Why Am I Not Hearing My Intuition?

Henrietta Atkin.
New Earth Consciousness
3 min readSep 15, 2023

--

We all go through times when our intuition doesn’t seem to be working. Though I’ve used my intuition as my first sense for 30 years, I lose my way at times. Following are four experiences that will shut down your spirit and vibes, and also four sure-fire ways to reawaken your intuition.

STRESS
Stress can put your body into fight-or-flight mode. Your instincts switch to ones of survival and hypervigiliance. This body chemistry is not conducive to the relaxed listening that is intuition in action. Balance out stress with…

MEDITATION
I prefer a guided meditation for 45 minutes, and use the meditations of Dr. Joe Dispenza. Even walking can be a meditation. Anything that gets you out of paranoia and fear, and into heart-centered, trustful enjoyment of life will reawaken your sixth sense.

ROUTINE
Working too hard on left-brain tasks, chores that must be done, or any boring routine can wear down your spirit. Driving the same route to work or dutifully attending to your children’s schoolwork (but never going on vacation with them) are energy-sappers. Break out of routine with….

WHIMSICAL NEW EXCURSIONS
Go exploring. Visit a new restaurant in the neighborhood and exercise on a trail in the Forest Preserves that you haven’t explored before.

Recently, I trusted my vibes to visit a metaphysical bookstore in Chicago I’d never been to. Inhaling the beautiful fragrances of the incense and oils, seeing the colored stones and crystals, and enjoying the mystical atmosphere woke up my spirit. New insights started flooding in almost immediately.

My fearful ego said, “Well, that was over-indulgent.” However, the same day, a new mentoring client contacted me. Coincidence? No. I was playing with energy in a new way, and life responded.

IGNORING YOUR GUIDANCE
Do you ever get a tiny feeling to call a friend or surprise your child with a gift and then put if off? Sometimes our vibes tell us to move in ways our ego disagrees with, such as going to a metaphysical bookstore for the fun of it, or indeed, having any kind of fun.

Ignoring little intuitions over time can shut down our channel completely. The solution to open it back up is…

ORACLE CARDS
I have two Tarot decks that I use as oracles, drawing one card a day for guidance. One is based on fairy tales and one on mythology, both of which speak to my inner child and awaken my curiousity and joy. I ask a question and shuffle, infusing my current energy. You may look at the pictures and interpret, or read the guidebook and see which ideas touch you.

There are many oracle decks to choose from, some online or available as an apps. If used with respect for the sacred portals they are, they open you right back to your own inner guidance.

GOING IT ALONE
In the past, we may have isolated ourselves in our metaphysical studies to feel safe. However, as mammals we thrive and grow in safe, supportive groups. Your intuition will grow exponentially when you find….

SPIRITUAL COMMUNITY
Online groups such as NEC on Facebook or Medium create community, closeness, and joy. In fact, the more that like-minded people gather together, the more we can change the world energetically.

Many people are interested in developing their intuition, and their stories and support and experiences will encourage you to see life on a vibrational level and to trust your vibes.

Henrietta Atkin has taken all three levels of Sonia Choquette’s intuitive training, including two teacher trainings. She is available for mentoring and readings. Please connect with her on her social media below.

https://www.meetup.com/intuition-for-business-and-healing/
https://www.facebook.com/IntuitionDaily/
https://payhip.com/HenriettaAtkin
https://www.amazon.com/My-Intuitive-Journey-stories-intuition-ebook/dp/B07VL7THWD?ref_=ast_author_dp

--

--

Henrietta Atkin.
New Earth Consciousness

Henrietta is an intuition teacher, mentor and coach. Find her free tips at Intuition Daily on Facebook and her book "My Intuitive Journey" on Amazon.