Pig Feed Ingredients List (La Coop Federee) — 140 Series

New Farmer, QC
new farmer
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2015

Wanted to post publicly the response I got regarding the pig/swine/hog feed ingredients from La Coop Federee in Quebec:

For the swine feed you are using (“140” series), we have the same constraints as in Natur-aile feed. As for Natur-aile feeds, those feeds do not contain any animal protein ingredient, any animal fat, any drugs or antibiotic. These 2 groups of feed are formulated specially for specific users that do not want animal source of ingredient in their feed nor drugs.

[table]

Code,Product name,Texture,Bag size,Tag
14006233,PIG STARTER 18% feed,pellets,25kg,14006
14007231,PIG GROWER 16% feed,pellets,25kg,14007
14008239,PIG FINISHER 14% feed,pellets,25kg,14008

[/table]

And here is the actual PDF which I had to twist their arm to get a copy of.

Personally, I really don’t understand why the Coop won’t just publicly post these documents in an easy-to-find manner on their website. First of all, they’re obligated to disclose the ingredients (it’s even marked so on their packaging). So it’s in their best interest to make it easy for the consumer to find this information.

Instead, I had to send dozens of emails and several phone calls and navigate their corporate hierarchy before I could get anyone to give me a simple straightforward answer.

More importantly, the Coop should be ADVERTIZING this information for their Natur-Aile and 140 series of pig feed, because it’s really good that they are offering feeds which contain no animal proteins or medications. Sure, they contain GMO grains, but the rest of this is really good news for the small and backyard producer who is concerned with these subjects. So to me it makes no sense that they bury this information beneath a mountain of bureaucracy, and it’s for this reason that I’ve shared my research publicly here. I hope it will be of benefit to other searchers.

--

--