Wood crates & bins for farmer’s market and vegetable storage / transport

New Farmer, QC
new farmer
Published in
2 min readJan 22, 2015

This is a super common site at CSA drop-offs or small-scale farmer’s markets: the tupperware plastic tote bins full of vegetables:

Harvest bins

[via]

They are definitely a ubiquitously available technology, and they work well for this use, and can stack well when full, and can stack inside one another when empty.

But they’re plastic.

I know it’s idealistic and probably stupid, but I’m looking at how I can remove plastics every single place possible in my production this year.

It’s not easy to break out of the plastics mindset, and I’m not doing it consistently every place in my life, but alternatives exist if we try.

Like what’s so bad about making your wooden crates to store, transport and display your farm or market garden’s vegetables in?

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/8c/38/e6/8c38e63b470c97132fc55835397fff0e.jpg

I know something like this: the choice between a wooden or plastic container may not seem like a big deal, but it’s a matter of how, where and why do we want to expend our energies…

FARMERS MARKET IDEA.Wooden Crate Floor Display, Wood Crates, Wood Display, Produce Displays, Craft Displays

[via]

[via]

Interesting selection of different types/uses of wood crates at the link for the last image above.

--

--