I’ve Started My Own Medium Publication

Welcome to New Game +

Zachary Allegretti
New Game Plus
3 min readJun 4, 2023

--

Photo by Enrique Guzmán Egas on Unsplash

I’ve been writing on Medium for almost a year now. So far, I’ve mainly been writing for publications to reach a wider audience. While I plan on continuing to do this for the foreseeable future, I’ve been looking for an opportunity to get more creative with my writing and write about things I’m passionate about. While I try to incorporate this in all of my writing, I can’t deny that I’ve had some misses. When Better Humans rejected my last story, I knew it was time to make a change.

I’ve been looking for a Medium publication centered around video games for quite some time now. Most of the big ones aren’t active anymore, so I figured I would take a shot at creating my own.

You may be wondering what sort of authority I have in this domain. After all, I’m probably a complete stranger to you. Well, I can give you three reasons

I’ve been gaming my entire life.

Starting back with the SNES and Gameboy, video games have been with me from the very beginning. I’ve beaten hundreds of games, logging countless hours. I’ve played everything from shooters to RPGs to racing sims. I’ve owned every generation of consoles since the original PlayStation. Gaming has been a core part of my identity for as long as I can remember.

In an act of good faith, I’ll share a link to my Xbox profile. I spend most of my time on Xbox these days, but I hop on Steam every now and then.

Of course, my opinions are and always will be subjective. But I’ve experienced so many different trends in the gaming industry that I’ve gained a strong sense of what works and what doesn’t.

I’m a completionist.

When you’re a kid, you don’t have money to buy games. 15 years ago, there was no Xbox Game Pass or Humble Bundle. I never knew when I would have money for a new game, so when I got my hands on a new one I had to squeeze every bit of enjoyment out of it. I’m that guy who beats the game three times, unlocks every achievement/trophy, and finds every hidden collectible.

I’ve collected every gem in the original Spyro trilogy, found every orb in Jak and Daxter, and unlocked the mastery camo in every Call of Duty game I’ve played. Whenever I add a new game to my collection, I’ll at least play it until I see the ending credits if I can’t unlock all the achievements.

If I’m going to write about a game, it will be something I’ve played inside and out to the point where I have a complete understanding of the game’s mechanics. This is something that a lot of commercial game reviewers tend to get wrong. There’s no shortage of jokes about game reviewers being laughably bad at the games they critique.

The opinions here are my own.

I’m not an influencer, streamer, or content creator being paid to say these things. I’m not sponsored by anyone. At the moment, I’m not monetizing any of the content in this publication. Everything I say here is my own opinion.

You are welcome to disagree or leave a comment with your thoughts. Feel free to even call me out. I’d be thrilled for this content to turn into a place for discussion. One of my favorite things about Medium is how passionate and engaging the community can be.

You might ask when you can expect to see some actual content. Hopefully, by the time you read this, I will also have at least one other review published. I work a 9–5 job so I can’t make writing and gaming a full-time effort (as much as I wish I could). Depending on the games I’m playing, it could take weeks for me to finish a game and write about it. I will try to focus on newer, more relevant releases.

I’m excited to see where this goes. Thanks for reading. If there is a game you want me to play and write about, leave a comment.

--

--

Zachary Allegretti
New Game Plus

Software engineer at Google trying to figure out life. Unfortunately there’s no documentation.