No Bad Weather, Just Bad Clothing

New Haven On A Bike
New Haven On A Bike
3 min readDec 10, 2018

As the not-even-Winter-yet weather has beset New Haven, I’ve had to keep this mantra in mind and re-calibrate my brain for what is acceptable cycling weather.

At what temperature do I need the thicker gloves? The under layer pants? Single socks or double? It seems now that 50 degrees can mean a t-shirt ride in my newly New England-ized brain, whereas this was cause for consternation in Texas. Every day I hop in the saddle, it seems, is a gamble as to whether I sweat through my clothes or I freeze off an appendage.

54 degrees outside?! Screw the windbreaker!

I still remember the first day the temperature dropped to 50-something in Texas, and it were as if Winter had suddenly arrived. I strode out to the bus stop in shorts and a t-shirt, feeling just fine, mind you, and found a group of people in scarves and hats and gloves and winter coats. After more than a decade down there, I’d joined them in their winter garb when it hit 50, but I now recall why 50 had felt so warm.

And at the same time, anything can be warm enough if you dress for it, right? That’s the idea, at least.

What I imagine I’ll need to dress like soon enough…

So far, I can see that sub-30 rides are totally doable, but perhaps the clipless shoes draw too much warmth from the toes. And, of course, layers is always the key. But what about 20 degrees? And the teens? Is there a point where it’s just “cold” and you’ve done all you can do? (For me, I guess only time will tell…that and the courage to give it a shot.)

I wonder, though, what other tricks of the trade exist. While those lobster gloves look great, I’m unsure of spending $70+ on yet another pair of gloves. I’m considering simply altering a pair of gloves, cutting apart and attaching the fingers to make my own pair of lobster gloves.

But what about plastic bags, for the hands or feet — yay or nay? Goggles in the snow? Studded snow tires or just big ol’ knobbies? Multiple pairs of socks?

I can tell that, soon enough, it may not be the weather itself that makes it too difficult to ride, but rather the road conditions….

The vanishing bike lane, nearly a week after a minor snow storm…

--

--

New Haven On A Bike
New Haven On A Bike

Just a dude who likes to ride a bike and walk places. Human associate and charioteer of Mabel the dog. Hit me up at newhavenonabike@gmail.com