Autoethnography

Ankit Jain
3 min readAug 28, 2018

--

Social, cultural and technological changes.

Those streets where I used to play all sorts of games, starting from cricket, football, kho-kho, gillly dunda to hide and seek, coconut please and what not are now silent and every time I walk back home during my summer vacation, I am nostalgic. Those childhood friends whom I barely missed anytime are not there anymore. Some of them have started working for their father’s business and others like me rarely go home while they are busy with their college and higher studies.

Yes, I am a Shaktimaan fan, like any other kid of my age who was born and brought up in a middle class family that resides in a small town. Having said that I lived in a joint family when I was a kid and I have a lot of cousins to share those memories with. Television, board games, video games and other sports kept me busy those days and now I realise I still play these sports but in mobile phone screen.

The advancement of technology has a great impact on the social and cultural life of people. Diwali, holi, rakhi and other festivals which earlier brought along with them a bag of happiness and enjoyment specially to kids where you get to meet your relatives are now done and dusted over audio/video calling.

Advertisement these days just clearly depicts the social changes during this period.

The way internet has just grown in last 20 years has brought us into this digital age. There is a rapid rise in the employment opportunities due to the introduction of IT companies and growth in service sector. Everyone is equipped with a mobile phone and we are literally surrounded by digital devices. Smart television, smart watches, smart phones — rise of artificial intelligence.Technological advancement during this era are just phenomenal.

Everyday you get to see a new smartphone launched by a company or the other. Earlier there were days when people waited for a new Nokia phone release with better features just because Nokia was the only reliable brand.

Technological advancement has just revolutionised the social and cultural behaviour in last few years.

“Digital advancement brought along with it digital intelligent toys”

Thank You !

--

--