Growing up with the Technology

The Internet and social media are very powerful tools that can influence and shape human behavior. In this article I will talk all the social, cultural and technological changes I observed in my life.

Image Credits — Tech-FAQ
#nostalgia

I still remember that day when I first used the mobile phone in my life. The phone was Nokia 5110 and it was year 2004. I was so fascinated as a kid as it was the first time I could talk to a person and the communication does not involves any wires and you do not have to be stuck at one place like in case of landlines it happens. From that day to now the technology has changed immensely, that was a time when for the entire family members, the only medium for communication was a single landline but now every individual has it’s own personal mobile phone.

I could clearly feel the social changes drastically and that was solely because of the advancement of the technology. Back then we all used to watch the 26th Republic day parade all together and that time there were not many shows airing on the TV. Our neighbors don’t have the TV during early 2000’s and that time we all used to watch cricket matches, Parades, news all together. There was no such distinction that they are neighbors and not part of family. But gradually the differences started to arise, slowly they stopped coming for these shows as now they have their own TV. Now they have remained like a Hi-Hello neighbors.

Those days my only superhero was my grandfather.

Back then for me the only source of entertainment was Cricket with friends, Board and card games with grandparents, but the things have changed. Now the grandmother is mostly occupied with her daily soaps, I am mostly occupied with my Facebook and Instagram feed.

But like the two sides if the coin, The technology has introduced a gap between you and your real world whereas it has bridged the gap between you and your virtual world. Now you can get a regular update what and where your friends are, what are they doing in their life. The only difference is that it has reduced the emotional connect between the people.

Waiting for photograph positives from negatives

The technology has helped in various other ways immensely, like I still remember during my childhood trip to Mount Abu we could not click much photos and we could not capture much of our experiences as we were having very limited rolls and now you can see every other person has a mobile camera and it’s all digital. No need to go to the shop to develop the negatives and wait how your photos have turned out.

So at last, I would like to say technology has changed the way students receive education, technology has changed how we communicate, technology has changed how we see things, technology has changed how we pay bills, even technology has changed how we date.

--

--