How I Made $750.17 in Just One Day

Thomas Rohan
New Money
Published in
3 min readMay 4, 2016

Before you mark this off as just another “Get Rich Quick Scheme”, let me tell you this; it actually took me 372 days.

It’s sad to think to think that the next generation will not have a chance to experience the feeling of finding money in their jacket on the first day of fall. Imagine finding $2 in your pocket everyday for an entire year. Thats basically what happened to me over the last year or so. Except I didn’t find any money…

A couple years back I read an article claiming that saving just $2 a day for 45 years will make you a millionaire at 65.

Sure 45 years is a very long period of time to wait and the 12% return required to get to a million is pretty unrealistic. But it’s not the point. The point is that almost none of my friends are saving their money and they could most definitely start. Even if their goal is not becoming a Millionaire by retirement, they can accumulate a considerable amount of money over time. Hopefully that hits you before your $5 Starbucks does.

I wasn’t ready to start saving for retirement just yet but I was piqued by the challenge so I gave it a shot. With no end goal in mind I started collecting. Change from daily purchases and tips from work, I collected all of it. All the coins went into a beautiful red vase sitting atop my dresser at home.

It wasn’t easy. I suddenly found myself having to make an effort to pay in cash again just to collect the coins. There were times where I was very tempted to cash out early.

I made it though. One year later, I carried 2,079 coins to the bank and deposited $750.17. I suddenly found my self with all this extra money that I didn’t feel I had the day before. It truly felt as if I made $750 in just one day.

And then came the toughest question, what to do with all this money?

Invest it? Buy new skis? Or maybe those new Air Jordans? I had so many options and it was truly a great feeling.

Now let’s face it, cash is dead.

Today, a majority of my transactions are made by card. We live in a world where even the Monopoly board game is going cashless. I figured it’s time to switch to something automated and a little more intelligent than my red piggy bank. I don’t plan on stopping my savings regime, I just don’t see a need to carry a 60 pound bin to the bank every year. I work hard to make my money, I shouldn’t have to work any harder to save it or even invest it.

This is the mindset that brought me to bankMe.

Now this isn’t a pitch though. Nor is it the time for me to tell you how great the app will be. But let me tell you this, I brought this same story to my interview at bankMe and I believed it’s what helped me land a spot on the team.

I want to leave you with this: It took me a couple years to truly understand the rigour and determination needed to save. Not every Canadian has the opportunity to learn what it takes to put money away. I’m on a mission to make saving for your goals as easy as turning your phone on.

That’s how I started saving, what’s your your favourite savings technique?

--

--