Writing

1 Big Mistake I Made When I Was First Getting Started To Write Online (and How I Overcame It)

Do you want to write online but face friction to start it?

Devansh Tomar
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Joel Lee on Unsplash

Do you want to write online but face friction to start it?

You’re not alone; the majority of people encounter this problem. I’ve been dealing with this for as long as I can remember. It’s like being stuck in a loop of thinking and never having to do it.

This friction doesn’t let the potential ever rise.

Treat this with utmost seriousness.

If you desire to begin, it’s a sign that there’s a part of you that yearns for expression, but your mind is preventing it. Constant resistance and delay in pursuing what you wish to do can lead to a loss of faith in yourself and confidence.

The more you delay action, the more your limiting beliefs take over your ability to act.

Why do we get stuck in this vicious loop of inaction?

I thought of writing around December 2021. I wanted to share my marketing and personal growth knowledge to help others on a similar path as mine.

Guess what? I couldn’t start.

I felt unprepared and not qualified to write.

I wondered, “Why would anyone read from me?” I’m not even an expert.

But these were all excuses for my underlying fear of judgement.

Big Mistake #1: Fearing judgement

Yes, I was afraid of judgement.

What if people don’t like what I write? What if people laugh at my content? What if people hate me for selling something? What if they don’t read my post?

The thoughts in my mind controlled me.

The bitter truth is that no one cares.

Even if someone had cared for a while, they wouldn’t remember what you wrote anyway.

But I thought of myself as the most important person on social media, as if everyone were sitting in front of their screens waiting to read my post.

This doesn’t happen.

I was stuck in my head. Until the start of August 2023, when I joined a writing mentorship. I saw many beginner writers like me overcome their fear of starting to write online and getting better at it.

That’s when I realised and decided to make a change.

How I overcame it?

I began writing daily on Twitter (X).

Was I doing well?

Hell no, I sucked. But who cares?

I accepted that it wasn’t good, but I was ready to be better at it, one word at a time. I published every day, regardless of how the writing was or how I felt. The goal was to overcome my fear and build confidence in myself by writing daily.

I wrote passionately and hit publish daily for almost 60 days, with only 15 views and 2 likes on posts, or sometimes even zero.

Then why did I continue to write?

This habit of writing daily without thinking of the outcome made me a better writer than I started. I was confident, not anxious, and fearless about being visible in public.

The person who couldn’t write even 280 characters on Twitter properly is here in front of you, writing these long-form posts.

I’m not the best, but I’m far better than started.

You will only be better if you allow making mistakes.

You will only feel ready once you start doing it.

The only way to overcome any fear is to face it head-on. Do what you fear more often, and your fear becomes your ally.

Write as if no one is watching you.

You think you’re important, which you are, but only for yourself and not for others. When you’re starting out, you are in the best position to put out anything fearlessly without worrying because no one is watching you at that moment.

It’s your time to try, explore, and evolve.

This is your signal to start creating online, as you’ll never be more ready than you are today.

Start today; I’m rooting for you.

What next?

I’m a new writer here. If you liked and found value, you will also love my other articles — so click here to follow. I promise it will be worth your time.

--

--

Devansh Tomar
New Writers Welcome

Writing to express | I share personal lessons & insights about self-mastery, lifestyle, spirituality & writing journey. Join the path of awareness