10 Things I’ve Learned About Life After Losing Over 100 lbs., Twice.

310 lbs. vs. 190 lbs.

Jazmine Clark
New Writers Welcome

--

I snapped this awkward pic to track my progress when I lost over 100 lbs. the second time.

I spent about 15 years of my life obese. The relatives I grew up around were all morbidly obese, my cousins and brother were also obese, and extended relatives were obese. I had a great aunt who had gastric bypass twice and she still gained the weight back. Another aunt also had gastric bypass but she regained the weight too. They tried fad diets, like Slim Fast and Atkins in particular, but there were no lasting results. They tried diet pills too but to no avail.

There was a point where they were injecting themselves in my grandmother’s kitchen with horse B12. No, not B12 for people, but for horses. My grandfather trained racehorses and they took it from him despite his protest, neighing at him for the lulz. They all had debilitating mental illnesses and trauma issues, and the only time things were somewhat stable is when large amounts of food were involved.

I was bullied at school for being fat, biracial, poor, and autistic. I was bullied worse at home. However, the worst part about being obese for me personally wasn’t the bullying.

The worst part about being obese as a child was being in a body that was so large I couldn’t run, sit cross-legged on the floor, cartwheel, or fit into kid-sized snow pants in the…

--

--

Jazmine Clark
New Writers Welcome

University of Michigan Ann Arbor graduate, mental health advocate and coach. Just trying make sense of my life and hopefully these experiences help others too.