3 Major Life Lessons I Learned from the Game of Golf

Khal Daghestani
New Writers Welcome
5 min readOct 14, 2021

My Start in Golf

I have played golf since I was 14 years old. I have never been any good, and still am not. Likely, I never will be, and I am OK with that. I accept it, and embrace it. Golf is for me a metaphor for life. It is enjoyable. It is pure. And, I can always get better at it. I take it seriously, however, I don’t attach to the results.

Photo by Andrew Shelley on Unsplash

When I was young, I swung the golf club like a baseball bat. It was all arms. I remember going to the driving range with my mother and brother when I was young. We had a set of golf clubs that my mom had bought from a garage sale. I pulled out a 3W (3 wood), took my back-swing, and swung as hard as I could. The club took off in a rotating motion and went up at least 60 or 70 feet in the air. My family stood and watched it in disbelief.

What we did not realize was that the trajectory of the club ended at a park bench, on which a gentleman was sitting. The club reached the peak of its arc and started moving downwards. I did not even have time to say anything. The individual on the park bench was blissfully unaware that a spinning club was careening towards him. Within what seemed like a full minute, the club landed smack dab on the park bench about two feet away from the man.

He was completely silent and did not seem in the least bit plussed. It was all calm and pleasant. To this day, I am hyper-aware of the need to grip the club. Note: this type of incident has not occurred in the 30 years since it first occurred.

My re-start in Golf

In 2012, I read an article in the great Success magazine about how playing golf was a metaphor for success. Practicing under the tutelage of a pro leads to slow and gradual gains. This is a lot like every other endeavor. In our group class, I noticed that those who had not practiced desired results, however, they did not achieve them. Those who had put their time in at the range, noticed improved ball flight and overall improved skills.

For so many, in all walks of life, that is the addiction of golf. We see the pros on TV, and wonder how they make it look so easy; the grace with which an impossible shot lands on the green. Then, we practice it, and when it works, we feel a hit of dopamine.

Lesson #1 — There are no Shortcuts

Like other skills, and life itself, there are no shortcuts. We get out exactly what we put in, and sometimes more. However, we still must put the work in. The results trickle out at the pace that the Universe intends them to. The good news is that we are in control of our effort, and we cannot be cheated. If we put the effort in, the results will come in proportion to the effort applied.

Lesson #2 — A Mistake is, OK?

Last week, I played golf at the Prairie Glen with my girlfriend, and we were both out of practice. On the first hole, I hit a slice (ball going to the right), and played off of the rough. I played some holes better than others, however, I enjoyed playing it all. On the 8th hole, I laid up just short of the green (target area where players putt to the hole), and ended up in a bunker.

I knew it was OK and I chose not to beat myself up over it. I’m still a good person, work very hard, and this was the result that came about. It was what was meant to be, and there was a plus to my missed approach. I would get to practice getting out of a bunker and also using my sand wedge. I got out of the bunker fine and ended up scoring a bogey (golfing parlance for one over par). However, what I got out of the mistake was worth far more than if I had perfectly placed the ball on the green.

I got practice at dealing with a difficult situation. And, when we play at Whistling Straits (where this year’s Ryder Cup was held) next summer, won’t this skill be valuable? Often in life, we view mistakes as bad things. However, they are opportunities. We gain much greater skills in dealing with adversity than we do when everything goes according to plan. When you’re standing in the bunker, covered with sand trying to hit that ball over a 4 foot lip, it may seem otherwise. However, when you back up from the details, the big picture becomes much clearer.

Lesson #3 — Celebrate your Wins!

On hole 7, my girlfriend and I both hit beautiful shots on the green. She teed up, and I heard a nice crack and saw the ball fly at a perfect trajectory right towards the green. The next thing I saw, the ball was heading straight towards the flag. I honestly thought it would be a hole-in-one. Next, I set-up and took a measured swing. The ball shot up very high and landed directly on the green and started rolling towards the hole. Both balls ended up only several feet from the hole.

It was a huge win for both of us, and validated our effort. We ended up celebrating after the round with a drink and some food at the local Yard House. The lesson is this. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Celebrate your wins, however, and wherever they are.

Golf is an incredible game and one that I recommend every person try at least once. You will learn a lot more about life than the mechanics of a swing. And, once you’re off the course perhaps some of those lessons can be transferred to the rest of your life.

--

--

Khal Daghestani
New Writers Welcome

Khal is a technologist who enjoys learning and sharing what he learns with others. Follow me on Medium to be notified when I post new articles!