3 Tactics That Shaped My Writing Career

Implement these strategies to instantly level up your writing style

Ibrahim Jamali
New Writers Welcome
2 min readDec 18, 2023

--

Photo by Cytonn Photography on Unsplash

Ever Noticed how every piece of digital content uses its unique tactics to keep the viewers engaged? Be it engaging videos, eye-catching images, or any other format.

Similarly, writing also uses its own set of strategies that keep the readers engaged and urge them to take any further actions.

Here are 3 key tactics I learned as a writer in my digital marketing journey over the last 2 years that shaped not just my writing style, but also the way I connect with my readers.

1. Make It Relatable Or Emotional

When your audience sees itself reflected in your words, a sense of trust and understanding is sparked, transforming your words into feelings and emotions.

Emotions like joy, struggle, or nostalgia help you create memorable content and a bond that goes beyond just sharing information.

Remember how I started this article with a relatable question?

2. Highlight Benefits Over Features

A bitter truth about writing is that no one is interested in who you are or what you are offering unless they are getting something in return!

While writing, you should always remember to answer the reader’s unspoken questions like “What’s my benefit” or “How will it help me” or “How can it solve my problem”.

Features are about what you offer, while benefits explain how those features will improve or change the reader’s life.

3. Use Simple English

Using advanced English might make you sound sophisticated, but it would be useless if the reader didn’t understand it in the first place. And before you know it, they are GONE!

I recall what Allan Dib, writes in his book The 1-Page Marketing Plan:

“If you confuse them you lose them”

On the other hand, using clear and easy-to-understand language ensures your message is being read, understood, and remembered as you propose it to be.

If you respect your reader’s time, you will surely win their attention in return!

To Bring It All Together

I discovered that writing emotional content, prioritizing benefits over features, and using straightforward language is the key to winning and retaining your reader’s attention effectively.

The benefit you receive in return is their trust and respect for whatever it is you have to say.

--

--

Ibrahim Jamali
New Writers Welcome

Sharing my insights on entrepreneurship and digital marketing through my personal learnings and experiences