3 Things I’ve Learned From Getting A Creative Writing Degree

The rumors are true…. you don’t need a degree to start a writing career. But from my perspective, it was worth it.

Shelby Lou
New Writers Welcome

--

Graduation Photo of Author

I don't regret going to college for creative writing.

Here’s the thing. I understand why a lot of people say you don’t need a degree to have a writing career. I believe that’s true; you can work your way up and teach yourself how to thrive in this industry. Just like in college, it’ll take a lot of effort and determination.

Looking back, I bet I could’ve taught myself how to get here…But I’m happy with how things turned out. Personally, I don’t think I would’ve gotten this far without experiencing this journey. And I want to pass what I’ve learned to those who might wonder what it’d be like to get a creative writing degree.

(This is not a story about how you should attend college for writing. I’m highly supportive of all writers and their backgrounds. Here, I’m just sharing my experiences and lessons learned.)

My Background:

Ever since I was young, I’ve been determined to be a writer. I always told myself (and everyone who asked),

I’m going to be a writer

--

--

Shelby Lou
New Writers Welcome

Creative writer and copywriter with topics on life-lessons, travel, health, writing tips, and more. Follow for enterainting and informative reads!