3 Tips to Make You a Better Writer

Use your resources to your advantage

Tyonna H
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 8, 2023

--

Aaron Burden via Unsplash

You can use many resources to further your skillset, but it starts with writing about topics people are passionate about and being consistent in honing your craft. You must see the value in writing repetitively, even when you aren’t seeing the progress you want. You must start making high-quality habits and get used to being outside your comfort zone to become a better writer.

Perfection is Imaginary

Searching for perfection will only lead to unnecessary disappointment and frustration. Write to be the best writer you can be, not a perfect writer. You will make a draft, look at it, and feel like it is missing something, but the only thing it is missing is being seen because you are procrastinating submitting it. Create a writing system so you can adequately measure whether you are being critical and working toward improving the paper or using the editing step to procrastinate submitting your work.

My system looks like this:

Read and talk; if I want to get inspired to write, I need to develop ideas. Reading about something that piques my interest usually does the trick. I also like to talk about topics I am learning about with other people. Our dialogue may inspire me to create.

I start writing by throwing my thoughts about a specific topic on the page. I do this by asking myself a host of questions. I put myself in the position of the reader. I have questions that I want to know the answer to, then when I develop a theme that these questions have. I am more equipped to write a clear message.

When I write, I first write my headings to help me organize my thoughts. Then I can expand on the subject and categorize my questions by heading to ensure they all get answered. Once I finish my first draft, I remove all the unnecessary sentences because all my ideas can’t make the cut. A) No one wants to read a large chunk of text, and B) Letting go of the text allows for either white space or better content.

I repeat the review and revise steps three times max because I need to submit it if I want my audience to see it. My goal is to write the best message possible, not be perfect.

Tim Mossholder via Unsplash

Learn from those around you

Study writing tips from others. With writing and in life, it is a game of trial and error. Read books, articles, and anything with text and take notes. Did this author draw me in emotionally? Or Was I bored with this text? Take this information and note what could be better. Being able to critique your writing and others will teach you what can be more helpful when conveying a message to an audience.

Take time to read often about the topics you want to write about and learn from the author through their writing style and message. Remember, learning never stops, so study up.

You miss information when you are not open to learning. Find people who are great writers and get their opinion on your writing and be open to their critiques. You will find more value if you are honest about what you need to work on as a writer.

Practice doesn’t make perfect,

Practice makes progress.

Strive to make progress in everything you do in life!

-Manny Pacquiao

Publish your work

Put yourself out there. To become a better writer, you need to write repetitively. But if you want to be a great writer, you must lay out your work and continue growing and creating regardless of your fears. Learn from people’s input, and don’t take it to heart; when you get a negative comment, it will happen, but don’t let fear of peoples’ opinions dictate your actions.

Write because you are passionate about writing and love learning and teaching others. Write because it makes you a better person.

Fear is temporary, but regret can last a lifetime.

Thank You for Reading!

--

--

Tyonna H
New Writers Welcome

Freelance Health Writer | with a love of learning & teaching. I write to teach others about effective methods to help them make well-informed decisions.