5 Reasons You Should Stop Giving Unsolicited Advice

The irony is… If after reading this you think I have a point, maybe you’ll ignore these too.

Matilda Marie
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by RODNAE Productions

Let me share a story with you. A friend’s husband is applying for a job that’s 8 kms away from their home and takes about four hours to commute back and forth.

His reason for considering this job? “The pay is higher.” Indeed, an additional $140 for a family of six can be a lot.

What I can’t tell them is… The commute time and fatigue are not worth the increase in his salary.

I did the math: He works 160 hours at home because of the pandemic, but it’s not enough to sustain their needs. So, an additional $140 would be a big help! The standard work hours in the Philippines is 160 hours per month, but if you add in four hours of commute to and from the office, that makes about 192 hours of work or let’s say work-related expenditure.

I wanted to share my thoughts with them, but I can’t — I’m done. I’m done giving my two cents.

Perhaps you’ve done this, too. You gave advice when to your friends even if they didn’t ask for it. So, let’s keep our two cents to ourselves.

Why You Should Stop Giving Unsolicited Advice

--

--

Matilda Marie
New Writers Welcome

I'm an old soul writer trying to catch up with modern life. I write about life musings, health, and anything that interests me.