53 Unfinished Stories: My Creative Brain Is Drowning Me

Fighting against 40 years of emotionless reporting

Bobbie O'Brien
New Writers Welcome
3 min readMay 2, 2024

--

A color photograph — The backdrop is a olive green drape, a potted plant is in the foreground, the focus is a typewritten sign that states in all caps: WRITE WITHOUT FEAR. EDIT WITHOUT MERCY.
Photo by hannah grace on Unsplash

I do not suffer from writer’s block. My words flow.

I do not lack dedication. I write daily for hours.

However, I do lack emotional strength to “finish off” my tales. To cut needless paragraphs, refine word choices, and polish stories as precious gems for publication.

I’m a strong woman. So why has finishing become my Achilles heel?

Writing with emotion

For 40 years, I worked to strip emotion from my writing.

As journalists, we learn to prioritize the Who, What, When, Where, and Why. Personal feelings are not to be included in news reports. (At least not when I was a reporter.)

But writing for Medium flips my focus 180 degrees. Now I tell personal stories.

And tapping into my emotion hurts my brain and wounds my heart.

Skills I’ve honed for four decades now vex me. Digging deep is arduous and not automatic. It’s one shovel full of sadness or joy, humor or silliness at a time.

I cry a lot, and laugh some as I write — especially when telling stories of my husband, our life together, and his death.

My reward. Some readers feel my grief. A powerful gift to me knowing my words and my husband’s stories have impact.

Unlimited story ideas

My problem: the creative side of my brain doesn’t turn off. It does not care if personal stories are more difficult to tell and take time. It just floods my thoughts with unlimited ideas — countless shards of inspiration.

But those shards have sharp edges which cut deep when not handled carefully. So I take my time polishing those gems while the ideas pile up.

There are 53 unfinished stories, so far. A few sample headlines:

  • Top 3 Rules of Toilet Paper Etiquette
  • Hallmark Does Not Make a Card for This Moment
  • When Did My Breasts Become a Bosom?
  • The Day I Almost Ate from the Garbage Bin

If I complete one story a week, it will take me a year to clear the list. Even finishing a story a day (a minimum production requirement as a reporter), it will take seven weeks. And that’s without adding new inspiration to the list.

Swimming, searching for answers

I do some of my best creative thinking underwater while swimming laps. So I’m trying to find a solution with every stroke. Nothing yet.

The irony is, with every lap, I also think of new story ideas.

Luckily, one of those ideas is this article asking Medium novices and experienced writers alike for suggestions:

  • Headline created, photos chosen, 100s of words written, now how to finish a story?
  • How to dam the river of tears and let loose laughter when writing about personal hurt?
  • How to know when a story’s end is nigh?

I’m looking for help. (That’s not easy to say!) Just jot down your best tips, no matter how outlandish, in the comments section.

Make me laugh until I cry. The advantage of swimming, no one sees my tears. And thank you.

A color photograph of an 8 lane, 25 yard long swimming pool with aqua blue water and blue and white lane lines.
Author’s photo of an eight-lane, 25 yard swimming pool.

--

--

Bobbie O'Brien
New Writers Welcome

I’ve yet to write the perfect sentence. Yet a single word describes my life: BLESSED. A journalist over 40 years in public radio, newspapers, TV. Now, I write.