6 Actionable Tips to Overcome Your Self-Doubt

Putting yourself out there while dealing with imposter syndrome

Dr. Schmidt
New Writers Welcome

--

Woman giving a presentation.
Photo by Flipsnack on Unsplash

Do you ever feel like you’re not good enough? Do you feel like a fraud, even though you’ve accomplished great things? If so, you’re not alone. You’re probably suffering from imposter syndrome, just like me.

In this article, I will tell you more about the syndrome and provide helpful tips on how to overcome it and do things anyway.

So, what is the problem with imposter syndrome? Imposter syndrome feels like a cage, limiting your ability to put yourself out there. It’s like having invisible boundaries around you. The phenomenon is more frequent than you probably think: Estimates revolve around 70% of the population that suffers from the syndrome at some point. It strikes especially in women. And achieving more things will not necessarily make it go away.

I have suffered from imposter syndrome throughout my whole life despite achieving many things that I could be proud of: I was one of the best students at my school. I graduated from psychology with top grades. I have a PhD. I achieved all this despite coming from a working-class background and being the first in the family to study at the university.

--

--

Dr. Schmidt
New Writers Welcome

Psychologist & Neuroscientist 🧠→Premium Ghostwriter. I help Psychologists & Coaches grow their brands. Notion expert. 🐈 lover, gardener🌱. creatorschmidt.com