8 Super Easy Ways to Use Vinegar to Clean Your Home

Get rid of those toxic, general purpose-cleaning products

Sarah Scribeswell
New Writers Welcome
5 min readMar 20, 2022

--

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

It was the start of a new year. I was on a quest to incorporate lower-toxic alternatives into my household. I brewed myself a lovely cup of coffee, sat down at my computer and prepared to do some light research and map out a solid plan of execution.

I was immediately overwhelmed! There were so many different avenues to explore, countless things to consider and approximately a bazillion ingredients that I needed to research!! I decided to take a hard left on Easy Street. I turned off my computer continued life as I knew it.

Not my proudest moment.

Several months later on a Friday evening, my husband reminded me that my in-laws were coming for a visit that weekend. And my house was…not very clean. Our cleaning supplies were low and we were out of a few products (I mean, that’s why my house was dirty — obviously!). It was late and I was tired. But my in-laws were coming!

So I searched online for tips on how to clean with natural products I already had on hand. I was shocked to discover that vinegar can be used to clean almost everything in my house. The instructions were easy to follow, and it was much cheaper than buying new cleaning products from the store. Score!

My husband tended to the kids while I ran around my house like a crazy person cleaning everything in sight with vinegar for the next couple of hours. The visit with the in-laws was a success! They had absolutely no idea how grimy my house was the day before.

I have not purchased any conventional cleaning products since then.

And that is how I unintentionally began my journey to a less-toxic household.

The star of the show — Vinegar!

Vinegar is a trusty agent that has been around since the dawn of time. Or at least as far back as recorded civilization. Seriously! Babylonian scrolls dated back to 5000 B.C.E record the use of vinegar as a preservative and condiment.

Vinegar is incredibly versatile and reliable. It is most commonly used in food preparation, as an ingredient in condiments, and for cleaning. Some folks even use it for medicinal purposes.

Just as you like to have a reliable friend on speed-dial, you should always have a bottle of vinegar on hand in your pantry. Vinegar will be there to support you and help you tackle even the toughest cleaning projects.

There are many different kinds of vinegar. You will want to use white vinegar for all your cleaning endeavors. Technically, you could use Apple Cider Vinegar as a cleaning agent as well. However, it does have a color/tint so is not ideal for cleaning some items. Our goal is to keep it simple, so let’s just stick with one version — the white vinegar.

Before we start cleaning, a few housekeeping items…

Why it Works

Vinegar is composed of water and Acetic Acid. Acetic Acid is a natural disinfectant that easily breaks down dirt, grease and grime buildup. It is a miracle worker.

The Scent

Some people do not care for the scent of vinegar. I admit it is an acquired smell. Mainly because we are conditioned to equate cleanliness with the smell of bleach and potent pine or lemon fragrances. But the added ingredients that make those products smell good are horrible for you.

You can either train yourself to get used to the natural scent of vinegar or simply add a few drops of your favorite essential oil to add natural fragrance — lemon, orange and lavender work well.

Use Caution

Although you can use vinegar to clean almost everything in your house, there are a few exceptions. Avoid using it on some countertop surfaces, such as granite, marble, and natural stone; flooring made of hardwood or stone, and some wood furniture. Oh…and irons too! It will ruin irons (learned that one the hard way).

Safety First

Since vinegar is a strong disinfectant, it can irritate the skin. Be sure to wear gloves!

Without further ado, below are some easy ways you can use vinegar to freshen up your household!

1. Glass Cleaner

Mix the ingredients together in a spray bottle. Spray your windows with the solution and use a dry cloth for a streak-free finish.

Recipe: 1 part vinegar + 1 part warm water

2. Showers & Tubs

Start by using the same recipe as the Glass Cleaner above for maintenance cleaning of tubs and showers.

If there is built up grime and soap scum, you’ll need something a bit stronger. Combined the ingredients below to make a paste. Let that sit for a few minutes then scrub away with a sponge or brush. Rinse clean.

Recipe: 1 cup vinegar + ¼ cup baking soda + dash or liquid dish soap

3. Faucets/Showerheads

To clean build-up, put vinegar in a plastic Zip-Loc bag. Wrap the bag around the spout and secure it with a rubber band. Make sure the liquid covers the entire area you want to clean. Let that sit overnight (or at least an hour minimum). Then use a toothbrush to gently scrub away any grime that still managed to stick around.

Recipe: vinegar (that’s it!)

4. Carpet

Mix the ingredients together in a bowl. Use a clean cloth to apply a small amount of the solution to the stain at a time. Blot with a separate, dry cloth. Repeat.

Recipe: 1 TBSP vinegar + 1 TBSP dish soap + 2 cups warm water

5. Dishwasher

Place a bowl or measuring cup full of vinegar on the top rack of your dishwasher and run the machine as normal.

Recipe: 2 cups vinegar

6. Stove & Sink

Mix ingredients in a spray bottle. Spray surface areas and let sit for 10 minutes, then scrub with a sponge and soapy water for a sparkling clean finish.

Recipe: 1 part vinegar + 1 part water

7. Microwave

Eliminate odors and loosen caked-on grime by placing the ingredients together in a bowl and cook it in the microwave for 2–5 minutes.

Recipe: 1 part vinegar + 1 part water

8. Coffee Machine

If your coffee does not taste as fresh as usual, use vinegar to decalcify your machine. First, clean out any coffee grounds and give the machine a quick clean. Then follow the steps below.

  • Fill the water reservoir with the mixture and place an empty paper filter into the filter spot
  • Set machine to “brew”
  • Halfway through the brew cycle turn off the machine. Let sit for an hour.
  • Resume the brew cycle
  • Pour the liquid down the drain a give the pot a quick rinse
  • Run a few more brew cycles with water only (no vinegar)

Recipe: 1 part vinegar + 2 parts water (unless otherwise noted in user manual)

Easy enough, right?! I hope that these tips help you to begin (or continue) your journey of less-toxic living.

So, go ahead and roll up those sleeves, put on those rubber gloves, and try one of these methods! Let me know your favorite vinegar cleaning tips in the comments below!

--

--

Sarah Scribeswell
New Writers Welcome

Freelance writer and mom of two little kiddos. Mediocre at most things, but always try my best.