A Goodbye Letter to the Dollar Tree

My one and only true love

Yina
New Writers Welcome
2 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

Dear Dollar Tree,

It’s with a heavy heart that I say goodbye. After years of being my ride-or-die budget bestie, you’re closing up shop. This split is hitting me harder than when they canceled Game of Thrones.

Our love story began in freshman year when a box of mac & cheese from your aisles meant the difference between hunger and a full belly after class. You kept this broke kid fed with your $1 cans of soup and bags of ramen. Even now, your affordable and usually-not-expired snacks have fueled me through many a movie marathon.

I’ll never forget the time I spilled an entire can of Coke all over my buddy’s basement. While I feared parental wrath, you came through with a $1 stain remover that worked like magic. Bless you, Dollar Tree.

Then there were all the birthday parties where I agonized over getting my friends lame gifts. You allowed me to be the “cool friend” with tiny rubber chickens or light-up whoopee cushions that were actually an amazing hit.

I don’t know who I’ll turn to now for art supplies, last-minute cards, or random gadgets to entertain myself with. Sure, I can probably find that stuff elsewhere, but it’ll never feel the same. Those big name stores don’t have the scrappy, value-packed heart you do.

So thank you, Dollar Tree, for always having my broke back when money was tight. No matter my financial status, you treated me like a million bucks.

Your ol’ pal,

Yina

--

--