A Letter to Diana

(A neighbor admires a woman whose husband went to war)

Chinecherem Esther Inyiama
New Writers Welcome
1 min readFeb 16, 2023

--

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

Dear Diana, I have been lost in the seas of your eyes

The most radiant blue in the universe

Your thick brows inked in perfection

A drizzle to my desperation

The best part of my morning walk

Is to watch you stir from sleep

Your blue eyes would glitter from the sun ray

A signal for those cherry lips to pray

You never realized you make all the colors

One little frown paints the skies gray

Your infectious smile litters like red

A moment buttered in bread

In those silent tears

You would sit staring at the Garway field

Your lover was to return

A hope living in Saturn

Days became centuries

For the reality of his absence was bitter

Your undying anticipation holding the town’s paper

A naked truth coated in whisper

I write fiction, poetry, and personal development and also share my thoughts on a couple of social issues. If you found this engaging, leave a clap, also read my other stories, follow and subscribe so as not to miss out on future stories.

--

--