A Little Hack to Forget Your Tiring Day as a Parent

Good night!!

Krish K
New Writers Welcome
2 min readJul 18, 2024

--

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

Yesterday was not a very significant day, but a tiring one. I spent the whole day at home with my 8-year-old Danish.

I must admit that I am awful with kids. I like them, but I’m not sure how to spend time with them.

After so many years, I consciously missed his mother, who looks after him. She was on a two-day trip to see her parents, and I had to handle everything.

Well, I can manage everything except my kid’s tantrums.

I wonder why these small packages come with such great responsibility.

Yes, I quoted similar Spider-Man’s quotes to him in the morning while he was reluctant to eat his homemade breakfast.

I helped him with his homework, but he didn’t show any gratitude.

Then we went biking for a half-hour. He was pedaling so recklessly that he almost missed a roadside drainage and gave me a heart attack.

At noon, he didn’t eat his lunch properly and missed his mom like I do.

Evening time: some board games. Nah! He wanted his device to play those highly addictive racing games.

But in the night, he seemed to slow down. We watched some Scooby-Doo on TV. We did some leftover homework.

I played some indoor cricket with him before retiring for the night after dinner.

He fell asleep within 15 minutes in his room.

I opened my laptop and did some errands. After an exhausting day, I felt a little more at ease. Before heading to bed, I decided to look at Danish.

But as I saw his sleeping face, I realized a greater truth.

It was so innocent and pure that I forgot all about my tiredness from the day. For a second, it took me away from the complexity of life and made me forget the concept of time.

It represented the reality of the present moment. Everything we do revolves around that one singular point: now.

It felt like every second was worth spending the entire day with him.

Final thoughts

Children are inherently naive and innocent. They are far away from the complex nature of the mind. It reflects plainly on their faces, especially while they are asleep.

So, if you’re a parent, I recommend simply viewing your child’s sleeping face before going to bed. It will free you of the dominant thoughts of the day and ensure you get a good night’s rest.

Thank you for reading.

Feel free to clap, respond, and follow.

Have a nice day!

--

--

Krish K
New Writers Welcome

Exploring the world of writing l Lifelong learner l In search of meaning of life l Trying hard not to get overwhelmed