A Timely Reminder From a Stranger

Between Thanksgiving and Christmas, a stranger shook my paradigm.

Oliver Romsen
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Donald Giannatti on Unsplash

The story starts a few days after Thanksgiving. I volunteered to drive our kids to church school on a regular Saturday. My wife asked me to meet a man at the nearby mall to give him a package that contained my daughter’s used dress.

No big deal; it was along the way, after all.

I asked if he could meet me at the parking lot in front of the mall so I didn’t have to leave the car and pay for parking, to which he agreed. When he came, I didn’t bother to get out of the car. I handed him the package, and we went our separate ways after he said thank you.

I learned more about the man when I got home.

My wife gave away the dress because it’s too small for my daughters, and no one uses it anymore. When she wrote an announcement on Finn.no, she asked the interested parties to tell her why she should give the dress to them. She received several responses, but the one she picked (let’s call him “Fredy”) said that they were from Ukraine. His three-year-old daughter would love a dress like the one she posted (NOTE: We live in Norway, one of the countries that started accepting refugees from Ukraine when the war started).

--

--