Baba O’Riley

That synthesiser opening by The Who.

VaKnow22
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Ann H: https://www.pexels.com/photo/who-text-on-a-pink-surface-11141898/

It’s one of the most interesting starts to a song that I know of. A minute or so of unique genius. Pete Townshend at his finest.

It is also the sound of my recovery. Roger Daltrey sings the opening lines:

Out here in the fields; I fight for my meals

I don’t know too much about the origins of the song. I think it is to do with the Isle of Wight Festival and Woodstock. For me it is about starting over.

Depression is the new me. It has changed the course of my life and I want to make sure it is a change for the better.
Out in the field, where I am right now, I have truly fought for my meals. My improvements. My breakthroughs. Every win is a step forward. Each of them a monumental struggle.

I don’t need to fight; to prove I’m right; I don’t need to be forgiven

During the worst of my depression it was a battle. I fought for the small victories. But now, I no longer need to fight. I have accepted who I am. I am also past worrying about forgiveness.
I have apologised for my mistakes. I have carried a lot of guilt and been desperate for forgiveness. But I don’t need it. Not as long as I remain true to myself. My new self.

--

--

VaKnow22
New Writers Welcome

Welsh, New York Ranger fan, veggie, family man, mental health advocate. Attempting to be a writer, support the cause.