Beginner Photography Mistakes to Avoid

A list of lessons I’ve learned during my photography journey

Melvyn Clark
New Writers Welcome
3 min readApr 30, 2023

--

Photo by Sameer Kalani on Pexels

When I started on my photography journey, Professional Photographers from Instagram and Youtube were my main inspiration. They used to talk about the different camera gear they use, so I got excited and I started to buy a lot of expensive equipment believing that those were the main reasons my photography wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be. Trust me, the promise of better images and more creative control can be alluring, and before you know it, you’ve accumulated a pile of equipment that you don’t know how to use.

When you’re just starting, it’s more important to focus on learning the basics of photography, such as composition, exposure, and lighting. I started with a $350 DSLR Camera. Two months later I was buying a $600 Mirrorless camera because I was pretty sure that the DSLR wasn’t delivering the results that I expected.

What happened to me is that I was buying a lot of gear before mastering the basics. I become overwhelmed and frustrated and for a moment I thought that photography wasn’t for me (almost $2,000 spent on camera gear in 6 months). Each new piece of equipment comes with its own set of features and settings. If you don’t take the time to learn how to use them properly, you’ll end up with a lot of expensive gear that you don’t know how to use. Trust me, I’ve been there.

If you ask me, here are some tips for avoiding the same mistakes that I made:

  1. Start with a basic camera and lens: Instead of investing in the latest and greatest gear, start with a basic camera and lens. This will allow you to focus on learning the fundamentals of photography without the distraction of complex equipment. Most big camera brands offer an entry-level camera with a kit lens. That’s all you need to start your journey. Just master the “manual mode” in your camera before buying new gear.
  2. Learn the basics: Take the time to learn the basics of photography. Composition, exposure, and lighting are crucial and all can be learned and achieved with a basic camera and kit lens.
  3. Practice, practice, practice: The more you practice, the better you’ll get. Take your camera out with your friends and family. Try to take photos in different lighting conditions, sunny and cloudy days, indoors and outdoors, etc. Grab your camera whenever you can and experiment with different settings. Eventually, you will become better.
  4. Upgrade gradually: Once you’ve mastered the basics and have a good understanding of what you need, you can start upgrading your equipment gradually. You will be able to make better decisions about what gear is right for you.
  5. Shooting is just 50% of the job: Editing your photos is just as important as taking them. I personally use Adobe Lightroom but nowadays there are a lot of great computer programs to edit at more affordable prices. Learn the software and master it so that way you can bring out the best in your photos.

Remember, photography is not about the gear you own, it is about the moments and stories that you tell through your images. Invest your time and energy into developing your skills. Like every other skill, you need to practice in order to become better. Take it slow, enjoy the learning process, and don’t forget to have fun along the way!

Remember to subscribe if you want to learn more about photography tips and lessons that I’ve learned during my journey.

https://melvynclarkphoto.medium.com/subscribe

--

--

Melvyn Clark
New Writers Welcome

I'm an artistic wedding photographer & filmmaker based in Guatemala. I provide a personalised & exceptional services to capture timeless memories.