Bibliophiles! Here’s Why Kindle Is a Great Choice, Even if You Adore Physical Books

Let’s accept the fact that we all love physical books no matter what Kindle offers.

Nilesh Dilip Bane
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 25, 2022

--

Photo by @felipepelaquim on Unsplash

Many people, myself among them, feel better at the mere sight of a book.” — Jane Smiley

Indeed! The sight of books, the feel of holding one in your hands, the smell of pages is simply unmatchable.

However, Kindle isn’t that bad and if you are an avid reader, here’s why you would benefit more than regret by opting for one.

Getting accustomed to Kindle is simpler and sooner than you think

Kindle has kept things pretty simple. All you need to do is register your Kindle once with your Amazon credentials and then buy a book just like any other product. The book gets delivered to your Kindle within seconds and you can get to reading by simply clicking on the book’s icon.

Ideal for night travels

This is a big advantage you get from Kindle over physical books, as people around don’t prefer light even if you have it pointed to your seat. Kindle can easily be read in dark without bothering others and in fact, I now love to read in dark, with only the pages being visible.

Books in seconds!

If you miss ordering your next read on time while you were engrossed in finishing your current one, well, happens to me quite often, you need not wait until your next order is delivered. Kindle books are instantly delivered to your device. You can even transfer and read pdfs with ease.

You can get your Kindle for free!

Kindle books are cheaper than paperbacks. I have at times found books for one eight of its paperback price. So after every book, you would save some, and sooner, you would have saved all of what you bought your Kindle for!

Quick meanings and definitions!

Saves some flow while you read as, instead of going to google, you can simply long-press the word and get its definition and even its Wikipedia.

Saves space, doesn’t it!

Except for a few books which I have read twice or picked up again to revisit some content, I have not touched most of my books once I finished them. So I think it’s good to have them saved to my Kindle.

Some books are not paperbacks

Some good eBooks, mostly short reads, even from prominent authors are not available in physical formats.

“Somebody That I Used to Know” a short read by Preeti Shenoy is one such book that I loved.

With all these benefits, I do buy physical books at times whenever I feel like, especially when I see a bookstore. But I must say that I have switched to Kindle for most of my reading and I do enjoy it!

Happy reading!

If you liked this article, you may also enjoy my review of an affordable action camera mentioning the 7 reasons why I went for it.

--

--

Nilesh Dilip Bane
New Writers Welcome

Positive perception! Strives for self-improvement & being useful, being fit unexceptionally in daily hustle, Ordinary cyclist, loves reading, coffee, cricket