Chasing Dreams: Is It Really Like a Dream?

The Unspoken About the Road to Dreams

Azura
New Writers Welcome
4 min readMay 17, 2022

--

Photo by léa b on Unsplash

When we talk about making dreams come true, what a dreamlike scene comes to mind for all of us, right? Just think about it, you have reached the point you wanted so much, you did what you wanted, you reached the life you wanted where you wanted… How people who have achieved their dreams seem to have lived a magical life. I wanted to write a few sentences about a question that came to my mind in the last days when I was exhausted: It is good to reach dreams, but is the path after it really like a dream?

Let’s Talk About The Way After Your Dreams

It is possible to find many narratives about chasing dreams in the personal development rush lately. It’s all about activating and pushing us. As if we will reach everything we want as soon as we get up from our place. Of course, it can be nice to hear these, because it is a fact that these discourses can be effective at some point. But everything in life does not happen as easily as described there, I think we all agree on this. I believe that we all have a dream that we want to achieve. (I’m not going to get into the question of whether a dream is big or small, because I believe it is relative.) And whatever dream it is, it takes a long or short time to realize it. I think it was exactly this process that triggered me to write this article. I wanted to share my experiences here with the thought that maybe someone will read it and I can help anyone in need.

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Is Courage Independent of Fear?

What should we do to make dreams come true?” The answer, of course, is to take action. Because waiting for something to come to us from where we lie down is just to hope for something unreal. At the same time, taking action alone will not be enough for dreams to come true, it is important that this movement be stable. It is not possible to realize dreams with short-term enthusiasm, we all know that. It is necessary to accept from the beginning that nothing in life is free, and dreams come at a price. If you want something, you must pay for it. The price of dreams is sometimes pleasant, sometimes difficult. It is even possible that you will encounter many things that scare you from time to time on this road and you can easily lose your motivation (Let’s make this the subject of another article). Actually, that’s exactly why I use the word “cost”. It is necessary to talk about the facts, the path we follow in pursuit of dreams does not always pass with pleasure. You can fall many times, don’t worry about it. The important thing is to be able to continue where you left off.

These days, I’m running after a dream again, if it’s called running, and of course I’m facing a ton of difficulties like everyone else. Just when I say “okay, you’re on the straight”, I find myself in front of a new obstacle. I would also like to not encounter any difficulties on the way I follow my dreams. Who of us has not wished to live life the easy way anyway? Actually, I’m scared the most. If you are someone who has anxiety problems like me, I think you understand very well what I mean. Yes, I am afraid of not being able to overcome many obstacles on this path. Yes, I took action, I am walking this path to realize dreams and I am doing my part. But still, sometimes I find myself questioning whether I can do many things, whether I can handle them or not, and I’m afraid. That’s why I came here to share with you what I reminded myself. Remember, courage is only real in the scenario where there is fear. You don’t need to dare to do something you are not afraid of. That’s exactly why it’s your fear that makes you brave. Please remember this and don’t blame yourself for thinking you are a coward in your own mind. Chasing dreams: take action, be steady and stay brave.

May the courage always be with you,

Love…

--

--

Azura
New Writers Welcome

Sociologist || Freelance Content Writer || Blogger