Cheated

I let you go

Sudiksha
New Writers Welcome
1 min readMar 18, 2022

--

Photo by Claire Kelly on Unsplash

Blooming spring hues and summer skies;

long strolls in the borrowed time.

Your giggle rang in my ears,

for that one-millionth of a second I forgot all my fears.

Gave you the key to my smiles,

I tried to grab your hand tightly, uncomfortable and sweaty.

And every time you freed your hand it hurt,

Oh, what a challenge you’ve become.

Kept the thorns and pain within,

here presenting you the best of me.

Maybe our song wasn’t charming to you,

or you didn’t consider I was a human too.

So in between caring and chasing, making you mine,

I forgot I needed that too.

So this time when you freed your hand and went,

it didn’t hurt. I promise I won’t try again.

You tell me you love me and it’s all your fault,

I wanted you but it wore off.

Maybe ‘love conquers all’ is a bluff,

or maybe your love was never enough.

--

--

Sudiksha
New Writers Welcome

A book enthusiast who keeps her daydreamer and overthinker personalities with ease by trying to put them into words.