Coach Your Mind to Coach You.

It’s the hardest, but most rewarding thing you’ll ever do.

Nidarshana Sharma
New Writers Welcome
2 min readJan 14, 2024

--

Photo by Pranavsinh Suratia: https://www.pexels.com/photo/grayscale-photo-of-man-s-face-5466185/

Before you read further, you should know this is no success or transformation story.

It’s just one of my stories and you may wonder why you should read it I think you should because all of us are sailing/have sailed in this boat and what you read now may remind you of something.

I’m talking about building a habit. Doing something consistently for days/weeks/months on end.

It’s become a rare occurrence. And to me, it seems harder than ever before.

I started writing on Medium in September last year when I was in my older job which was not very hectic.

By the start of December, I’d written a bit on Medium, created reels on Instagram, and explored X.

A month later, I’m back to where I started. My consistency streak ended when I picked up a new job and I couldn’t manage everything.

In reality, I thought I couldn’t. So, I couldn’t.

When I resigned, I obviously had all the time to ideate, create, read, and be inspired. But, even then I’d tell myself that I had limited time and that I would not be able to maintain this momentum once I moved to the new role.

I didn’t challenge myself into thinking that I could have it all, that I could continue to write. I didn’t allow myself to believe that I could build a habit and make something of it.

And so it happened.

It was never about the writing. It never is and never will be. It is always about your mind.

They say that your mind could be your best friend or your biggest enemy. And if you want to build a habit, you’ve got to train your mind to become your biggest cheerleader (and a bit of a coach) sometimes.

If I had a penny for the countless times my mind would say, “But, you’re really tired today. Do you really need to write?”

Replace that write with whatever you want. And that’s how consistency is broken.

It’s been hard, training my mind to say things like, “Tired? Okay, take 10 mins. Then, let’s go. 15 mins and you’ll be proud later.”

But that’s where it all begins. Doing it every time you feel uninspired.

You’ve got to coach your mind to coach you.

--

--

Nidarshana Sharma
New Writers Welcome

Movies, dance, fitness. I write about the things and people that inspire me and experiences that shaped me.