Control your expectations

Why wouldn’t you?

Aamer Kahawish
New Writers Welcome
1 min readDec 12, 2021

--

Photo by [Artem Maltsev]

I’ve read a quote to Shakespeare in which he said: “Expectation is the root of all heartache.”
Yes, some of Google’s results say that this sentence does not belong to Shakespeare, but this does not matter. The important thing is that I liked the quote.

Most of our disappointments are actually because what we imagine in our minds is not like what happens in reality.

I am not saying that we need to stop or limit our imagination. However, I believe that we need to ask ourselves a question; why would we expect a specific behave of someone or something?

We can not control others, and we do not have enough power to control things around us. Therefore, we can not be sure that others’ behavior will match what we imagined.

The less you expect, the less you will be disappointed.
Try not to have great expectations from others so you won’t be hurt.

I tend not to make high expectations because I can’t be sure about it, and because I can’t let others behave exactly like me in the same situations. So, I let things go, and win my inner peace.

--

--

Aamer Kahawish
New Writers Welcome

Many thing to be said … and here I’m arranging my thoughts to become stories worth publishing