PDFs Are A PAIN for the Vision-Impaired

Resources I used to resolve the problem

kit_carmelite
New Writers Welcome

--

On the left a woman holding a magnifying glass to her eye. On the right, a frustrated woman in front of her laptop.
Image from Canva Pro

I’ve hated navigating PDFs since they first came out. You can zoom in to make the font more prominent, but there’s no word-wrap. Reading them this way is far more trouble than it’s worth. When I heard about tools that summarize PDFs, I started wondering what other things AI could do to PDFs.

Not only do I want to read them, I want to quote them. If the summary looked good, I wanted to be able to find parts of it to quote in my articles. I also wanted to be able to listen to them while doing chores. A few months ago, I discovered that Google Play allowed me to listen to DRM-free epubs that I’d stored on my drive. I didn’t care about the robotic voice. Like Kindle, it also allows me to highlight and add notes. It’s even possible to export these notes to use them in outlines.

The devices I have include:

  • A Windows11 laptop
  • An Android tablet
  • An iPad
  • An old Android Motorola phone I use as a listening device
  • An old iPhone6 and iPod touch I also use as a listening device

Discovering that I could convert PDFs into epubs was like discovering a locked treasure chest in my backyard, for which I just found the key. I…

--

--

kit_carmelite
New Writers Welcome

Married 25 years. Retired SAS programmer from Statistics Canada. Member of Secular Order of Discalced Carmelites since 2008. Love chess..