Dylan, My Mortal Enemy

The person I despise the most on earth

Avrantsa's Note
New Writers Welcome
4 min readSep 1, 2022

--

Photo by Zak Neilson on Unsplash

For the first time in my life, I knew what it’s like to hate someone so bad. I swear I despised him. I couldn’t even stand looking at his face, hearing his voice, and worse, accidentally touching him. That’s how much I hated him. I am not going to mention his real name, so let’s agree that his name is Dylan. Dylan is a fine boy. His face looks similar to the boy in this picture, the only difference is he is tan-skinned. A lot of girls were crazy for his cute face, but I was not one of them.

Dylan enjoyed torturing the girls by giving them made-up names, tripping their feet, throwing insects at them, and many more. He was mean to the girls but especially meaner to me. He often said that I looked ugly and horrendous. I never took his words seriously, and just acted like he didn’t exist. That flipped him out.

He intensively put in his best effort to ensure that my elementary school days were like hell. And every day, I wished that I graduated faster so we could part ways. Thank God, we got accepted into different junior high schools. I was truly delighted.

When I was a junior high school student, I went to Dylan’s school to pick up my friend. Back then, I was wearing my school uniform when I walked into his school hallway. Naturally, the students noticed that I was not from the same school. I was indifferent to the piercing gaze directed at me and kept walking to find my friend so we could walk together to cram school.

All at once, I felt uneasiness coming from the back of my neck. The unfamiliar vibe that I felt at that time. I turned around and saw him.

It was Dylan.

He was looking at me as if he was looking at a ghost. I thought to myself, he probably has not prepared any pranks when he sees me, maybe that is why he is so taken aback. It was the first time I met him again after such a long time. He did not say anything. Only looked surprised. His pupil dilated bigger when he saw me walking across the hallway.

Fast forward, Dylan and I ran into each other again in high school. Luck was not on my side, his class was right beside mine. I just hoped that Dylan already changed. Well, I was wrong. He was still as annoying as ever. Only, he did not trip and throw insects at me anymore. Just casually dissed me whenever he had the chance, and I couldn’t do anything but comply.

I graduated high school and received a long holiday to wait for the university acceptance result. I was sitting in the car after visiting my grandma who lived far away from our house. Then, I heard my phone ringing. It was a line app notification. Surprisingly, it was from Dylan! Here goes the conversation I had with him:

Dylan: “Hi, how are you?”

Me: “Yeah, I’m good. I guess?”

Dylan: ”There is something I want to tell you.”

I looked at my phone screen for a long time. What is he planning this time? is he gonna threaten me about my past? Or is he gonna ask for some money?

My mind was flooded with tons of questions as my finger stopped tapping. But then I decided to reply to him like this:

Me: “Sure, what is it?”

Dylan: “The truth is, I have been in love with you for a long time. Would you be my girlfriend?”

I was blinking several times when I read my chat. What?

WHAT?!

All these years, I thought we hate each other. Now, he is confessing to me? What is this?! Is this real?

I had to pinch my cheek to make sure that it was reality.

Honestly, this was the major plot twist I had in my life. I thought that I am a good observer but I guess I am not. We never truly know inside a person’s heart. I missed it. I never realized his feelings for me. But, if you were me, would you know his feelings?

I would never perceive what’s inside a person’s heart anymore. It is like the biggest mystery of the universe.

Avrantsa is a 20s lady who recently started writing on Medium. Currently, she still exploring different niche on her writings. Her hobbies include reading books (fiction and non-fiction), watching Korean drama and movies, playing guitar, editing videos, and cooking.

You can support her by following her and giving honest and genuine feedback on her stories, or by subscribing to her Medium account to get an email notification of her latest article.

--

--