Enjoy The Show — If You Can

Put down your damn phone.

Sophie Evans
New Writers Welcome
3 min readApr 19, 2023

--

Image: John Mark Arnold via Unsplash

It all started with U2.

Once Bono stood on the stages of arenas around the globe, preaching sermon-like political messages to the thousands screaming before him, it set off a trend that has truly impacted my ability to enjoy live music gigs.

Everyone put your phones in the air!”, he would boom as the entire crowd used the backlight of their phones to illuminate the darkness. Everyone would sway from side to side, and even once the speech ended and the bars of the next song commenced, people would continue to wave their phones to resemble candles. And block my view.

The tendency for phones to be in the air has only increased since then. Anyone in my line of vision can hold up their phone to capture each song’s anthemic chorus or snap ephemeral images of the artist for their Instagram story, indirectly watching through the screen. In their fever to post immediately, they notice all the red bubbles for unread notifications, spending time responding rather than absorbing the moment.

Image: Wan San Yip via Unsplash

Admittedly, I’m not immune. I will always take a few photos as souvenirs, especially if an elusive performer like Frank Ocean is in front of me. However, I ensure that the brightness on my phone is reduced and while photographing or videoing that my outreach isn’t hindering the view of the person behind me.

I find it infuriatingly off-putting having a bright LED screen in my face while I’m trying to watch Bicep do their thing, not the livestream of the person in front of me. Particularly post-lockdowns, these experiences are ever-more special with music artists finally safe enough to travel across to our live music-adoring lands again.

It has created an anxiety that occurs when I’m simply contemplating attending a live gig. Although I always try to be present, my brain will be preparing and analysing the room, assessing options to avoid being disrupted. Will I be able to stand in a position with an obstructed view? Will I become so annoyed trying to look past someone’s phone that I’ll not enjoy my favourite song?

I’ve always wondered how the artists on stage perceive this activity, whether it’s distracting or if they are too “in the zone” to notice. I asked lead singer Dale Tanner from the band Ocean Grove for his thoughts.

“From an on-stage perspective, the more phones that are out capturing the moment and sharing it with the world, the more exposure that gives us. However, from a crowd perspective, I totally don’t agree with it. Somewhere along the line, the beauty in the idea of going to a gig and experiencing it has become blurred, and a lot of people with their phones out must feel the classic obligation that if it isn’t captured or posted it never really happened.”

Ironically, many people romanticise in-the-moment experiences via their social media — inspirational affirmations and all — before this mentality is forgotten when they feel the compulsion to document their living-in-the-moment on their phones.

It’s probably wishful thinking that I should expect other attendees to spare some consideration next time they’re at a concert, but no one appreciates the Continual Snapchatter, the Group Chat Reporter nor the old-school Facebook Fiend who checks in to incite jealousy.

Enjoy the show.

--

--

Sophie Evans
New Writers Welcome

Obsessed with fashion magazines. Attempting to write a book. Believe the full stop is severely underused. Advocate for the Oxford comma. @sophevans on Instagram