Everything I Never See

(hint: I can only describe it with a poem)

Joelle Rochkind
New Writers Welcome
Sep 25, 2022

--

Image of window blinds that look out at scenery.
Photo by Francesco Ungaro on Pexels.

window blinds
twenty two panels
suspended– resilient
silently beckoning to a rising sun
still

light carved them out with a spoon
left sharp angles of chalky white plastic
each edge water-
falling into the
next

splintering the light
but it does not fall in pieces
and tumbles into my room
all at once

with the silhouette of a tree
bleeding through yet murky
color lost to all the
bouncing around of light
merely contrast
no similarity to a color we call
green

Too Bad.
I never see any of this
when my eyes stop dreaming
reflex dictates
always reach for the
screen.

--

--

Joelle Rochkind
New Writers Welcome

Winding words to try and understand the world a little more.