Everything You Need to Know About ADHD Medications — Simplified.

A guide written by a person with ADHD.

VidyalekshmiH
New Writers Welcome
6 min readDec 3, 2023

--

Image by Tara Winstead on Pexels.com

Let me begin this on an honest note: The only qualification that I have for writing this is that I have ADHD myself, and I take medications to help with the symptoms along with other therapeutic methods.

When I was diagnosed a few months ago, I scavenged the internet to find out the best options to manage my ADHD and not struggle as I did in my childhood.

Everything I found was super intense, with a ton of jargon. What did I do? I did what I do best. Research. So, I am sharing that humble research with you in the easiest and most digestive way possible.

Let’s get started!

What Is ADHD?

I know that you know. But ADHD, or Attention-deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, is a very common neurodevelopmental disorder. Having this disorder means you show very consistent patterns of inattention, hyperactivity, and impulsivity that interfere with your daily life.

About 2.58% of adults have ADHD, and 6.8% of adults have ADHD with evident symptoms globally.

The core symptoms of ADHD include:

✅ Difficulty paying attention and staying focused

✅ Excessive movement and fidgeting

✅ Acting without thinking and interrupting

✅ Forgetfulness and disorganization

✅ Poor motivation and difficulty completing tasks

How Do Stimulants Help With ADHD?

This is one of the most searched questions. I have swamped across websites to get an easy answer.

Stimulant medications increase the levels of dopamine and norepinephrine in the brain, which are key chemicals that play a major role in executive functions like attention, motivation, impulse control, and more.

You’ll find two names when searching for stimulants:

1️⃣ Methylphenidates: Concerta, Ritalin, Metadate

2️⃣ Amphetamines: Adderall, Dexedrine, Vyvanse

The effect of these medications depends on a variety of factors which is better explained by a psychiatrist. You can visit a highly qualified psychiatrist, specifically someone who specializes in ADHD and related neurodevelopment disorders, for better understanding.

I take the Methylphenidate (I started only a month ago) one because that is the only one available in India, my resident country. These are the changes that I noticed in myself. These are the common changes most people notice.

✅ My attention span and focus increased. I can now concentrate and stay on a task with less distracted by external stimuli.

✅ My hyperactivity was mostly internal, but I was physically restless and stimmed a lot. I can sit still more. I fidget less, and my excessive movement is reduced.

✅ My impulse control improved. My impulsivity was evident through my constant interruptions and blurting things out while someone else was speaking. My overall patience and self-control have improved.

✅ I, by nature, have this desire to do more and learn more. However, I lack motivation as a result of my ADHD. My motivation improved with greater persistence in completing tasks, and my procrastination reduced drastically, along with my avoidance behavior.

Clinical studies show that 70 to 80% of people see reduced ADHD symptoms after finding the optimal stimulant medication and dosage.

Side Effects And Risks

I personally did not face any major side effects except for a loss of appetite in the first week which eventually was resolved.

However, the doctors usually warn you about the following side effects.

➡️Decreased appetite and weight loss

➡️Difficulty sleeping

➡️Headaches or stomachaches

➡️Mood changes or irritability

➡️Rebound effect as the medication wears off

The first thing that I searched for was if the medication is addictive. There is actually little to no evidence of it. I personally don’t feel like it as well. I now only take the meds when I have some important tasks to focus on. Sometimes, other medications work for me as well.

However, dose adjustments and monitoring are important, especially for kids with ADHD. Do not take more than what your psychiatrist has prescribed.

Alternatives And Add-On Treatments

Stimulants are highly effective. No argument for that. But that alone won’t help with all of the symptoms. A pill cannot solve all your problems. Different methods work for different people. For milder cases of ADHD, often just such therapy is best.

Here are a few to try out as per what the internet told me.

✅ Behavioral therapy and counseling — Help teach coping skills and mechanisms

✅ Educational support — Classroom interventions and assistance

✅ Non-stimulants — Atomoxetine (Strattera) or Guanfacine (Intuniv)

✅ Addressing co-occurring conditions — Anxiety, depression, learning disabilities, etc.

Additional regular therapy helps me tremendously, along with some self-soothing techniques.

Here is how I manage my ADHD.

✅ Exercise: I strength train at least 3 days a week and move my body in some way every day. I also go for a run whenever I can. I know that it is not easy because of the executive dysfunction, but ADHD people, including me, actually love exercise but hate waking up, getting ready, and starting the exercise part. So, how do I tackle this? Music! Just playing some upbeat songs and drinking my morning matcha helps me a ton.

✅ Journaling: We cannot completely depend on therapy. We need to find our helthy coping ways. Mine is journaling. I write my mind out when something is bothering me. To tackle my self-esteem issue, I also use journaling and note my recent small wins, achievements, and happy moments. I express my gratitude as well by journaling.

✅ Food: I cut out packaged foods such as chips, high-sugar chocolates, etc. I only eat them when I crave them like crazy. But still, I haven’t touched packaged chips in a year or so. I cut out instant foods, also. I eat a high-protein diet with a ton of fruits and veggies and everything my local cuisine offers. I love spicy and sweet foods, and instead of switching to strict alternatives, I usually tend to eat whatever is locally sourced and is part of our cuisine. I am South Indian, and our cuisine is legitimately delicious!!

The Effectiveness of Stimulants Over Time.

Image by Lance Reis on Unsplash

ADHD is a lifelong condition. It is not so bad with all the extra benefits that a neurotypical does not have. We are faster, have hyper-focus, and are highly empathetic. If we navigate the negative effects properly, leading a normal life is quite possible.

To manage higher levels of ADHD, some people need stimulants but do not know if the effects last in the long run. I’ll provide points from the “diagnosed during childhood” perspective to easily understand.

Many children with diagnosed ADHD will continue to experience symptoms as they grow old into their adulthood. Regular monitoring and dosage adjustments are required over time.

Moreover, studies show that about 35% to 65% of children with ADHD remain symptomatic into adulthood.

Technically, being raised in a conventional Indian household, my symptoms were masked throughout my primary years, but my symptoms kind of worsened in my late teens and part of my early twenties. But my symptoms are mildly subsiding as I grow older. (For reference: I am in my mid-twenties)

ADHD, in general, is an under-researched topic, and ADHD in women is even less researched. Hence, hopefully, more treatment options will come up in the future as research develops.

In short, stimulant therapy is to be viewed as a long-term rather than a “quick fix.” Hence, work closely with your doctor to figure out what works best for you!

ADHD brains are only wired differently; it is important to understand and accept the fact that our brains are not wrong but just a bit different. It is to be noted that over time, some of your symptoms will subside. Some areas of the ADHD brain develop more slowly than that of a neuro typical. As our brains develop, the symptoms will also subside.

Conclusion

Let me stress the fact that it is important to consult with a doctor to determine what treatment methods work best for you. Stimulant medications for ADHD are generally considered safe and have only minor side effects. It has worked wonders for me, and the only side effect was a loss of appetite which automatically went away after a week of taking the meds.

I do not solely depend on medications. I have methods, as mentioned earlier, that help me cope better with the more emotional dysregulation side as well.

Stimulant medications, as proven to reduce the symptoms, are the first line of treatment for ADHD.

Always remember that such medications work best with other therapy practices. The medicine cannot tackle all of the symptoms but the major ones. Therapy and other healthy techniques can help you cope with the rest of the symptoms.

Work with your ADHD and not against it. Find what helps you do life better. Be kind to yourself and achieve more with grace.

--

--

VidyalekshmiH
New Writers Welcome

A curious mind with an infinite love for research and writing. A poet at heart and a content writer in the real world + a creative brain all around. ❤️✨