Eye of the Storm

A poem

Julieanna Jalbert
New Writers Welcome
Jun 16, 2024

--

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

What is it to stand in the eye of the storm?

It is the deadliest they say

A no man’s land, for all to be swept away

But, what if it’s just a portal

To reminisce on life

To endure the strife

Where time stands still

Where the chaos sends a chill

Down the spine of the one chosen

To watch life, frozen

I use to live my life in the eye of the storm

Hoping to get swept away

Hoping that I would make it another day

Hoping that excitement would stay-

Just long enough to live-

Life not on display

No longer a caste away,

But the eye of the storm

The heart that will not conform

--

--

Julieanna Jalbert
New Writers Welcome

I'm a young author and poet. My passions include creative writing, reading, and gardening, while my goals are to grow my platform and share my writing.