Find The Joy In Change

Confessions of a Perfectionist

Regina Eyite
New Writers Welcome
1 min readMar 26, 2023

--

Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

Change is something I have never enjoyed.

From a last-minute change of plans to the ending of a relationship, it has always made me uncomfortable.

Over the past week, I thought to myself, “Why am I so resistant to change?”

Upon reflection, I realised that the answer was obvious: I am a perfectionist.

I want to be in control of everything; I’m not too fond of anything that brings me uncertainty. My oldest brother would always tell me to “know myself”. I interpreted that as being constant. In turn, I believed that even changing my mind about something was negative; it showed indecisiveness and flakiness. But that is far from the case.

Change means growth. It means you have a new outlook, direction, or even a new you. In life, we will always be discovering ourselves. That’s the best part.

Change can be uncomfortable, inconvenient, or even painful. It’s okay to feel sad that things are not going the way you want them to go. However, we need to find beauty in the transition.

Now, I am more hopeful for where life will take me next.

--

--