Finding Solace in a Book During Tough Times

There was also one thing that kept me sane: the fact that at the end of each day, I could still go home to a book

Natasha Tynes
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo credit: Our travel guide in Wadi Rum, Jordan

There is a saying in Arabic that your best friend is a book.

This was a sentiment I experienced last month after dealing with a serious family health crisis that involved countless trips to the hospital, fear, worry, and uncertainty.

It was stressful, to say the least, and I struggled to maintain my composure and sanity. I was fortunate to have the support of many friends and family during this time.

There was also one thing that kept me sane: the fact that at the end of each day, I could still go home to a book.

I could get lost in the pages of a novel, forget, for at least a tiny bit, about the difficult circumstances, and shut down for the day with a smile on my face.

It was a small solace amidst the chaos.

The book was indeed my best friend.

What makes books a loyal companion is their unique way of offering companionship without demanding anything in return. They are patient and undemanding, always waiting for you to pick them up and dive back into their worlds.

--

--

Natasha Tynes
New Writers Welcome

Writer. Journalist. Words in @washingtonpost , @ElleUK , @esquire . I write about: ✍🏼 Writing 📲 Creator economy 🌍 Mideast