For the Fatherless on Father’s Day

Is the holiday worth celebrating for those of us whose dads have passed on?

Colin Rothamel
4 min readJun 18, 2022
A young man’s hand holding the hand of an older man. Image credit: mrmohock on Shutterstock
(Image credit: mrmohock on Shutterstock)

June isn’t an easy month for me.

Even though there’s plenty to celebrate with Pride festivities going on, the second half of the month packs a 1–2 punch: Father’s Day; and, the day I lost my dad.

My dad was 64 when he passed away in 2020. It was his first year in retirement — he’d spent his entire adult life working and didn’t get to enjoy a full year of time off. It still feels like he got cheated from enjoying more time with my mom.

My father’s very first job was working as a cart boy at Piggly Wiggly. I unintentionally followed his lead 40 years later when I accepted the very same position at Kroger. Unlike my dad, I only lasted a month before ditching the heat for a job with guaranteed AC.

One other differentiating factor between us that’s worth noting: Dad’s haircut in his teens made him look like the fifth Beatle, which my siblings and I always teased him about. He may not have been able to ever sub in as McCartney, but pre-mustache Harrison and Pops could’ve swapped positions and nobody would’ve been the wiser.

--

--

Colin Rothamel

Colin Rothamel never met a carb he didn’t like. When he’s not inhaling starches, he’s inhaling pop culture. Follow him on all platforms @colinrothamel