Friends Are like Whisky; The Older The Better

When you think the universe doesn’t like you, but actually it’s just an old friend visiting!

Anand P
New Writers Welcome
3 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Photo by Womanizer Toys on Unsplash

“My boss has diarrhoea, and now he wants me to cover for him at a meeting.” flashed a message on my iPhone

Wait. What.

Thank the Lord, I was in a Zoom meeting and could switch off the video as I COULD NOT control the laughter.

This had to be the GOAT of all excuses to cancel a meet-up, or so I thought.

An old friend was in town for work, and I had arranged to meet for drinks at our favourite watering hole. And along came this text, 53 minutes before we were scheduled to start devouring the happy hour.

Much like my college romances, the desire to meet seemed very one-sided.

It had been 4 years since we last saw each other in person, and as COVID-19 taught us better than any teacher could, nothing beats the good ol’ flesh and blood meet-up. The usual suspects were to blame for our inability to meet for all these years—adulting, never-ending work aspirations, love-life commitments, geographical distance, and last but not least, new friends!

Despite it being a long week at work, I was really looking forward to this Thursday evening with my closest friend from university. He had known me long before I became this pinstriped-wearing, jargon-junkie who couldn’t complete a sentence without using a twisted acronym or finance buzzword. (I am looking at you, Citibank.)

What if I had been in finance for 13 years, I still had feelings. And disappointment was writ large on my face when I realised it was a no-show from him. I was working from home that day, so couldn’t even resort to road rage while driving home to vent some of my frustration.

I logged off work, popped open a fizzy drink, and in no time I was on a food delivery app, looking for the best pizzeria nearby. (Yes, I like to eat my sorrows and no, you don’t have to feel seen.)

45 minutes and three pizza slices later, the doorbell goes off, and I dread getting out of my recliner to get the door. Instead, I chose to click ‘Next Episode’ on my latest Netflix true crime drama when the phone pings.

“Would you open the door, mate?

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

And there he was, sporting that stupid grin, just like the day we met for the first time. I was instantly reminded of the reason we were friends in the first place. When we hugged, it appeared as though all of the distance in our friendship had vanished.

I had doubted that my friend was ghosting me. We had spent enough time apart for my mind to let me believe that lie.

Mental Note: Keep your real friends ‘close’ just like you keep your eyes closed when you kiss!

Side Note: Don't let that brain of your’s make you believe everything. Its no Elon Musk!

Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

What followed were rounds of nostalgia and memories that would be PG-17-rated if they were a movie. Suddenly, the night was not so gloomy any more.

My friend had cared enough to surprise me. I slept like a child that day.

How has your meet-up with an old friend been? Did it feel just like the old times, or was it as awkward as a first Tinder date?

Written by Anand P

Thanks for staying until the end. If you liked the piece, I would love to hear your experience on meeting an old friend in the comments section:)

--

--

Anand P
New Writers Welcome

Writer, Banker, Dog Parent, Diplomatic Spouse. I am finding my own voice and sharing learnings in self-improvement, psychology, content creation, and writing