Good News and Bad News — Which One Do You Want To Hear First?

A Start To My Executive Journey.

Mayur Jadhav
New Writers Welcome
3 min readDec 8, 2023

--

Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

I have good news and bad news to share.

Let me start with the Good News.

I have received an email from BI school on my EMBA application.

And guess what!?

They have accepted my application and sent me an offer to join the EMBA class of 2024.

Hell Yeah!!

I feel this is the perfect road to my executive dream.

I can smell it.

I might be wrong but this is the best shot I could see right now and I don’t want to miss it.

The future I’m looking forward to requires tons of changes in me, a lot more to learn, adapt, and get experience.

I’m pretty confident in my technical skills. In fact even starting from today I can start working as an independent, external technical consultant.

Though I’m fully aware that this would not be a cakewalk, I have the confidence and energy to make it possible. After all, you are well compensated as an external consultant.

But I wouldn’t go that way because that’s not something that interests me. Also, I’m happy where I am today with a 9–5 job.

I work happily, get enough time to pursue my hobbies, take my vacations, travel around the world, and spend some quality time with my wife, take care of my parents who are back in India, and stay in touch with my two beautiful sisters, and their families.

Life seems to be sorted right now but my executive dream is something that always stays in the back of my mind.

I’ve not yet accepted the offer because of the bad news.

The Bad News

So here is the bad news.

I’m still waiting for a scholarship decision. This EMBA course is going to cost me around 600,000 NOK. That is around $56,000 USD or 4,700,000 INR

I have done my Maths and have reached the conclusion to pursue this course only with the scholarship, long before even applying for this course.

Although this scholarship covers only 25% of tuition fees, I have calculated the remaining 75% that will come from some other sources such as savings, help from my employer, and an education loan.

Naturally, I’m counting more on educational loans which are quite easy to get, at least in Norway. The interest rates are significantly lower than other forms of loans and the best part is, your EMI payment will start after you finish your course.

Also, there is a possibility that some part of this educational loan can be converted into grants. But that doesn’t mean I should go ALL-IN and block all my future financial decisions.

That’s the reason I have created an Excel sheet where I have plotted my financial plans and according to that BI scholarship is the real blocking step.

I’m hoping that I’ll get the scholarship confirmation in the next 1–2 months and I’m gonna kick start the EMBA program in early 2024.

If you enjoy this story, then follow me on Medium to read more such stories. Click here to connect with me on Twitter (Now X).

--

--

Mayur Jadhav
New Writers Welcome

BI Developer. Writer. Creative Educator. Building → learnSASCode.com | 43k on LinkedIn