Happiness Is Not The Purpose of Your Life

Happiness is a way of life.

Biliz Maharjan
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

We all want to be happy in life. For that, we seek financial freedom, good health, good relationships, and more. We often answer “happiness” to the question, “What is the purpose of your life?”

Is happiness the real purpose of your life?

Oxford defines the word purpose as: “the reason for which something is done or created or for which something exists.” In that sense, happiness becomes the outcome of doing something.

  • I’ll be happy when I am financially free.
  • I’ll be happy when I find my perfect partner.
  • I’ll be happy when I get six-pack abs.

Happiness is a Way of Life

Happiness is not the outcome (or destiny). It is a way of life. It is the path to other life purposes. You have heard the saying, “Money can’t buy happiness.” That’s true because happiness is not a physical thing that you can buy in the market. Instead, it is a feeling.

In life, you must focus on what you can control and let go of what you can’t control. You have total control over your thoughts and feelings. Since happiness is a feeling, you can control it. You can choose to be happy whenever you want.

--

--

Biliz Maharjan
New Writers Welcome

I write about self-improvement, creativity, and writing. Join 1000+ creators and thinkers for weekly notes: bilizmaharjan.com/subscribe