Here is How I Got 100 Followers Within 4 Days!

Hint — it’s Not That Difficult!

Rahul Pandey
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJun 1, 2022

--

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Yes! Finally! I have crossed the much-coveted 100 follower threshold after 4 days of being active here.

If you take a glance at my profile, you’d see that I joined way back in 2017. So, am I lying when I claim that I managed to cross over the threshold in 3 days?

Technically? Yes.

But I wasn’t active at all back then. In fact, I didn’t even bother to log back in once I created my account here.

I came back to the platform a few days ago and decided to give it another shot. Well, it seems that when you put in some effort, it actually pays off!

And as opposed to what many believe, it’s not as difficult.

But before I begin, however, I want to thank everyone who helped me get here. Of course, this measly number is nothing to write home about, but it’s something.

As of the time of writing this post, I’ve got 108 wonderful people following me, and the numbers will keep growing, hopefully.

For now, let’s cover what I promised. So, how does one get over 100 followers in just a few days without cheating the system? Here is what I did:-

I Published a Couple of Posts

I didn’t want to be mistaken for a dummy profile, so it made sense that I published a few posts before I embarked on this journey. I wasn’t sure about the topic I wanted to start with, so I picked something random and went with it.

The second topic, however, was a little more thoughtful, where I researched a bit before publishing it.

What I want to say is, you should publish a few posts before you start interacting with people. And then when you follow or clap, others are more than likely to reciprocate.

1. I actively engaged with the community

Well, not as actively as I would like to, but I tried reading as much as I could, and clapped (is that what it’s called?) a couple of them. I also made sure to leave comments on deserving and relatable posts, which helped bolster my followers in return.

2. I Followed more people than I should have

I would be lying if I said that I followed people selectively. I didn’t.

While I’m going to be more selective with my follows now, it was a reckless journey to the mini-stardom.

My suggestion would be to not follow everyone that comes across your path, though. Well, I shouldn't be the one to preach, so I’ll leave it up to you.

3. Asked my friends and family to sign up and follow me

I asked my friends if they’d like to sign up for Medium and follow me. Some of them came through and helped me promote my profile.

The way I see it, it’s a win-win situation for everyone where I get my due share of followers and Medium gets a bunch of readers who hopefully convert to paying members.

There is still a lot to learn, but it’s been a blast so far.

Witnessing such a lovely community that continues to grow in a face of stiff competition from rivals is encouraging, not only for me but for other aspiring writers as well.

Cheers!

--

--