Hold on… Let Me Change…

Let’s change for the better, releasing now what is not ours…

Jesna Sajan
New Writers Welcome
4 min readFeb 5, 2022

--

Image by the author

We face ups and downs, employment, and unemployment. We face humps and bumps during our journey. Nothing stays permanent, nothing is temporary. But we can do something about our life.

What remains is our inner core, learning and earning as we move. Media shows us materialism, social wants, equality, inequality, wanting us to react. Seeing others achieve in their own ways, not realizing their own personal difficulties behind the scenes, people want us to imitate, be like them.

Media is a means to get information, gain knowledge, use it to our best, purchase on the basis of the decisions, which eases or burdens our life journey.

Belief: You will never get ahead in life. You are stuck in your own beliefs.

Registered around ten years by my friend, Ria. It was found in the archived file of my subconscious mind.

She did not mean anything wrong. She said it, I dabbled my own emotional quotient and I registered it there.

I carried this belief for almost ten years. Then I realized…Ria wrote my future without me realizing it. I allowed her to create it for me.

Everyone does say something or the other, in bouts of lightning and it is forgotten. The giver does not realize that the receiver of the opinion has already accepted it. Call it a curse, opinion, judgement or statement. It is registered.

Ria was the citizen of my mind. I felt like a spectator, a worker, a migrant refugee taking orders from everyone and feeding it into my mind.

Though I respected her, I almost believed she always had the upper hand.

I was wrong.

I did have the power to change my beliefs, in turn, change my destiny. However, I did not make the effort, I let life run its course.

Jane my friend at work, once quipped poetically,

“Who are my forefathers, would they lead my path? Who are the soothsayers, the traditionalist’s abode?”

I found her very foolish. However, years later I contemplated one night, her words ringed true. I concluded she was right. She was someone who became a poet and self-marketed her work, earning herself respect over the years. I respect her for her mindset. The will to succeed.

Samantha, a nurse who commuted with me daily in our bus journey told me five years ago,

Do our people understand what we are worthy of?

I stared at her with a blank expression, an empty slate on my forehead. I was waiting to get another opinion, another approved statement registered in my mind.

“The people who open their mouths with cuss-words or judgements, fortunately, live outside us, our mind, even our physical body. They do not know what we are worth, our capabilities, our aptitude, our eagerness, our goals our emotions. We cannot expect from people. We have to find ourselves, release what’s not ours.”

The words did not quite register in my mind at that moment. It was retrieved a year later, from my subconscious mind, when I started on a blank paper, a lined paper, to write all the beliefs which I housed within myself.

That day was special, that day which changed a lot about me. It was a session during a conference at work on the last day of work, before the winter vacation. A guest lecturer, Mr D’Costa, wanted us to find out what beliefs were important to us. It took thirty minutes to release not only the beliefs, even the emotions housing a magnified personification of my personality, which was seriously not mine. Those beliefs were mine for more than thirty-one years of my life existence, my inner ghosts which were scaring and scarring me for years, robbing me of plentiful opportunities. After writing more than fifty different beliefs on paper, I was ready for his words, which shook my inner core for real:

One-Step, Two steps, failing on one, restarting again, is what makes us learn. Striving for perfectionism is good but it also creates its rival called procrastination.

Just Be Yourself, be a magnet to change!

Words are mere words unless we give them connections and emotions.

The quick action of dumping our choices on our belief system, asking the Divine to guide us. We know in our inner minds, some decisions are simply wrong for us. The emotional quotient of belief,

“Everything will work in our favour, just do it!” is a blind fallacy.

We must reason within ourselves, a self-conversation, increase opportunity for us to recognize, giving our subconscious the power to work the change for us, even when we do not see it in our conscious mind.

We might see opportunities or be patient enough to see through possible opportunities. We must try, keep trying, failures help us learn better. But try never to house the beliefs of others, even the people we love. People do not know how it affects us.

So let’s work on ourselves, more than worry over the need for change. Let’s change for the better, releasing now what is not ours...

Wish you success!

--

--

Jesna Sajan
New Writers Welcome

I am a 40 year old writer of sorts, writes short stories, musings, life, business, seniors, articles. I also design, create content, occassional video content