How (As a New Writer) I'm Planning to Attract 1,000 Medium Followers in 4 Months

Using this single proven approach

George Kathele
New Writers Welcome
3 min read4 days ago

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I took a break from Medium for about 4 months.

I needed a clear path for my writing. So, I must know what to write about. I felt like I had it in me, but I didn’t have the exact information or a plan for how exactly I’d carve this newborn career.

As a result, I spent most of my break reading excerpts from top writers on the platform. I needed a mentor to help me determine exactly what writing style works for me and my audience.

So, let me introduce you to a tactic that will get you your first 1,000 followers in four months. (This is not a hack.)

The Why?

I need to build an “owned” audience.

I still need to carve out my niche and target audience.

This leads me to “the why” of using this approach. I need an audience to deliver my writing pieces on this platform and make use of the ‘rented’ audience.

I will build my loyal audience and share unique material with them.

I must express my interest in monetizing my ‘owned’ audience (via a newsletter). Most of us plan to climb the ladder to become top writers because we want others to appreciate our efforts.

Another reason for my decision is my love for writing. I’m eager to share my ideas with my true audience.

I’ve avoided this form of art. It reminds me of unaccomplished tasks and unpaid gifts from our creator.

The How?

Let’s get to the point. Here’s a proven plan to attract 1,000 followers in 4 months. It includes what you must sacrifice.

Ever heard of the “Law of 100”?

It’s exactly 20 weeks until the end of 2024. Thus, I plan to write 100 articles in 4 months without fail (by December 2024). That means I’ll draft five articles every week.

However, I’m not planning on niching down in the next four months. I’ll write on different topics, then niche down. I’ll use a plan based on the best articles and audience feedback.

I plan to pick four general categories (one I can easily relate to) and write about them for two months. Next, I’ll write about the two best-performing of the four categories for the last two months. Then, I’ll pick the best category and niche down. By this time, I’ll have reached 1,000 followers.

To attract 1,000 followers in 4 months, you must sacrifice time. You must also commit to writing and publishing at least 100 articles.

Yeah, that’s the how. It’s as simple as that. Drafting 100 writing pieces in 4 months.

I’ll credit this approach to 3 top writers who laid out the plan, which worked in their favor.

Shout out to Derek Hughes, Nicolas Cole, and Anangsha Alammyan. I read their writing and got their approach. They made it easy for any new writer to understand.

All that’s remaining and required of you (as a new writer) is to put in the hard work.

Bonus Tip

Another way to attract 1,000 followers in 4 months is to engage with other writers on the platform.

To understand other writers’ work, you need to read and engage with their content. Engage by clapping, commenting, and sharing their content with other readers and writers.

Engagement always works. Use it to your advantage.

Wrap Up

I have not hit the mark of 1,000 followers. But I am guaranteed more than 1,000 followers in 4 months after publishing this article.

Please hold me accountable and walk with me through this journey. I’ll share some tricks for creating and engaging an authentic audience.

I will work hard to reach 1,000 followers by December 2024. I will start at 212 followers and track my progress.

Don't leave yet; I need your help.

1. Comment and share your insights on this piece.

2. Keep those claps coming in.

3. Follow for a follow-back.

P.S. Let me know if I can help in any way.

Ciao, Ciao!

--

--

George Kathele
New Writers Welcome

Digital Writer. Writing 100 Medium Articles by December 2024. Follow my Writing Journey for Inspiration to Join the Online Creator Economy. Carpe Diem.