How Could I have Forgotten that?

When memory fails us… even happy ones.

--

Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

What does it mean when you can’t recall your happiest memories? Because, as I sit here, figurative pen in hand, striving to write precisely that, I come up with nothing. It’s an odd sensation, like hunting for a snapshot in the depths of my memory only to find an empty album. Is it common to have difficulty recalling happy memories from the past? And could it be because I have too few or too many?

Memories are meant to be our life’s treasure chests, reservoirs of happiness, laughter, and love. However, there are times when the mind pulls a surprising trick, shrouding them in a mist that makes retrieval impossible. It’s a phenomenon that many of us have experienced, and the path toward understanding it begins with accepting its normalcy.

There are several reasons why some memories are difficult to recall in the complex network of the human mind. The sheer number of experiences we amass over time might occasionally make it difficult for the brain to go through the mental archives and select a particular instance. It’s like trying to choose one particular book while you’re standing in the aisle of a library full of them.

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Trauma, too, has a long-lasting impact on our ability to recall positive experiences. In order to protect itself, the mind may choose to repress or distort specific memories linked to pain or misery. In such situations, the blank slate we encounter when trying to recall memories is not the result of amnesia but of a calculated act of self-preservation.

However, the feeling of drawing blanks when trying to recall a good memory is not a sign of incapacity or dysfunction. It demonstrates the complexities of human memory, an evolving and sometimes surprising aspect of our mental processes. Instead of seeing it as a flaw, we might accept it as a natural aspect of our minds alternating between remembrance and forgetting.

Personally, I’ve found comfort in the act of acceptance when confronted with the frustration of a memory lapse. It’s acceptable to forget certain details of each joyful occasion. I’ve learned to treasure the vivid memories that do surface — the ones that give my life rich colors — instead of obsessing about the gaps.

Photo by Edu Lauton on Unsplash

So in that sense, my happiest memories would include my son jumping into bed with us at 6:00am this morning for a warm cuddle, my daughter’s kiss on my check before she left for school, and my partner bringing me coffee in bed because he knows I’m useless without it and nobody can make it like he does.

Memories create a story that is specific to us within the vast web of our lives. We may approach the intricacies of the mind with understanding and empathy when we accept the ebb and flow of memory and the normality of going blank. It serves as a subtle reminder that even in the middle of times that are forgotten, life’s beauty endures and is only waiting to be found just around the corners of our minds.

Hey there! My name is Efe and I am a mental health professional. I enjoy bringing ideas to life through my content and creative writing skills.

If you like what you just read check out my e books here: https://selar.co/m/OversabiTherapist

--

--