How Diana Meresc Broke My Heart

The cat is out of the bag, Diana.

Shura Hanna
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJul 24, 2022

--

Credit to Brett Jordan on Unsplash.

What is a writer without a muse?

When I joined Medium, I was alone and unaware of what I was walking into. There was nobody here that I knew, not a single acquaintance to hold onto. I spent my first few days thinking tirelessly about what could bring me inspiration to write.

I managed to brainstorm hard enough to form an idea. Something simple yet effective would do. I wasn’t sure of how my work would be received once I pushed it into the world. After a bit of sweat and elbow grease, I released my work that helped break the seal.

I published my first article entitled How Journaling has changed my life.

Not much came out of it, but alas, I was determined to find my true niche.

Then I published my next work, which gave me a bit of insight as to what kind of work does well on Medium. It was entitled The Key to Successful Writing Goes Beyond Medium.

And there, I met you.

You gracefully came, with all your sensual allure. An enigma is how I would describe you. You ripped out the very best of my work with your neat highlighting skills. When I came back to my work a few minutes later, you showed me which parts you enjoyed the most.

You get me. You paid attention to the part where I spoke about my dreams. My aspirations.

But I had become apprehensive. I started to doubt. Did you like me for me? Was there something deeper between us?

I got to work to find out. The next piece I published was about love. Platonic and romantic love.

And you were there for me.

You highlighted all the parts I wrote exactly about us. You took notice of how I spoke about the journey to be chosen between two lovers.

Then you double-dipped on my first article again.

What writer wouldn’t want someone who enjoys reading their work time and time again?

It was destiny.

The Truth

I hadn’t heard from you in a while. I assumed you had found a new writer’s words to swoon over but I didn’t want to assume the worst about you so quickly.

I figured you would come back to me when it was time. When I put out more work about us.

Then I found out the truth.

While doing my daily Medium reads, I found an article written by Francis Lee.

I couldn’t believe my eyes.

He described you the way I had once described you. He, too, though you were mysterious. Your writing was sub-par but you seem to recognize good writing.

And not only did you lie to me, but Olivia Cal also has a few tales to tell.

Who else have you done this to?

I did some digging

I wanted to find something new about you. I needed to know, who you are.

Do you like writing and coffee? Take a number. You’re a Medium writer for goodness sake.

And I realized that no matter how many cramps I would accumulate in my thumb from swiping through your articles, you weren’t who I thought you were.

You’re a bot. And around here? You’re guilty until proven innocent.

I mean…can you even drink coffee without malfunctioning? Are you a lactose-sensitive kinda bot or what?

Your writing brands you as a millennial young woman with a lot of advice to offer.

But, how are you helping us when we don’t even know who to trust anymore.

Time reveals everything, Diana.

And I’m gonna figure out who you are.

This piece was intended to be humorous and inspired by the writers mentioned — Francis Lee and Olivia Cal. They’re both great writers so check them out.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Shura Hanna
New Writers Welcome

A college student discovering the world and recording her experiences. shuracreates@gmail.com