How I Discovered That I Am a Mountain Person

…and why figuring this out was the first step towards becoming a nomad.

Rishabh
New Writers Welcome
2 min readFeb 24, 2024

--

Mountains provide me peace, which I seek in life. Photos by the author.

Yes, like everything else in life, this too was a question I started asking myself quite often. If you had the option to spend the rest of your life in one place, which one it would be? An iced cap mountain or a secluded beach?

I got the answer to this question while exploring the western ghats region of India specifically, Chikkamanglur.

It’s the birthplace of coffee in India and often regarded as the land of coffee, this place is truly mystical. The experience of riding through the dense fog at an altitude of 6332 feet and winds strong enough to penetrate your wind cheaters was truly unique.

Didn’t expect it to get this cold ❄️

I have been to beaches too, in fact, I used to visit one every summer during my undergrad. The scenic sunsets or late night walk at the beach or just looking at the vast ocean and thinking how humble it is to “wash our transient feet” i.e. mortal beings. It has its significance and one needs to visit both(sea and mountain) and then look deep inside them for the answers.

For me visiting a mountain place provides solace and comfort which makes me feel I belong here. It rejuvenates me and fills my heart with positive “nature energy”, which is now so rare to find in this fast-moving world. The morning sun when it kisses my face, and when the cool wind whispers in my ear, makes me settle there and be one of them.

The same can be experienced at a beach, so I will leave this to you to find out and explore. Let me know in the responses and we can share our experiences to appreciate the beauty of both and embrace it.

That brings me to the end, and do follow me if you can connect with a small piece of experience that I have shared above.

--

--

Rishabh
New Writers Welcome

Bikes, Rides, and Roads - Documenting my journey, while experiencing it all.