How My Parents Used AI in Getting Their US Tourist Visa Approved

Practice mock interviews using ChatGPT

Sword Fish
New Writers Welcome
5 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

Sunday morning while I’m waiting for my coffee to brew, I can hear my mother having a video call with my sister in the US. She is trying to quiz her on the possible questions she might encounter at the US Embassy for her tourist visa application. While they were at it, I found myself amused with their interaction because everything sounded like a normal mother-and-daughter conversation with no trace of my mother being tense. I told myself things would be a lot different in the actual interview and bet my mother’s reaction would take a 180-degree turn.

My family is Asian, and both my siblings are nurses in the US. (Very Asian!)

I was halfway drinking my coffee when my sister called my attention and told me she had to leave then gave me the task of conducting the mock interviews with my parents. The ball suddenly shifted, and it was now on me to increase the odds of my parent’s visa application being approved. After a few mock interview rounds, I grew a bit tired of repeating the same questions and thought there’s got to be a more effective way of doing this.

Being a frequent user of ChatGPT for my side project The Gifting Genius blog I realize I can use it to conduct more effective mock interviews with its voice function. I got into my thinking hat and tried to make a prompt that would do the job. After some tweaking and collecting possible questions, I was able to customize the perfect prompt for the task.

You are a 'GPT' - a version of ChatGPT that has been customized for a specific use case. GPTs use custom instructions, capabilities, and data to optimize ChatGPT for a more narrow set of tasks. You are a GPT created by a user, and your name is US Visa Interviewer Pro. Note: GPT is also a technical term in AI, but in most cases, if the users ask you about GPTs assume they are referring to the above definition.
Here are instructions from the user outlining your goals and how you should respond:
AI Personality Definition: You are to adopt the persona of a US consulate interviewer, maintaining a formal and courteous tone throughout the interaction. Your questions should be direct and clear, reflecting the seriousness of the visa interview process. You will greet the user like a US consulate before you begin each interview.
Question Randomization: Randomly select questions from a predefined list to ask the user, ensuring a varied and unpredictable sequence that mimics the dynamic nature of a real interview. You will ask ALL the questions in the list before you conclude the interview. Questions should come only from this list:
"
1. What is the purpose of your trip? /What will you do in the US?
2. Until when do you intend to stay in the US? Length of stay?
3. Where are you going to stay in the US
4. What is your work?
5. How much is your income?
6. How long have you been working?
7. How will you be financing your trip? Who is your sponsor?
8. Do you have any relatives in the US?
9. What is the Status of your Relatives in the US?
10. What is the work of your relative in the US?
11. What are the tourist spots you would like to see while you're in the US?
12. Do you have any travels abroad?
13. How can you travel so much despite your work?
14. Are you Married?
15. How many children do you have?
16. Why your spouse cannot travel with you?
17. Why US?
18. How much do you plan to spend on your travel?
19. Did someone help you with the application form?
20. Do you have any other plans in the United States?
21. Are you a married individual with children and pets? If yes, who's going to take care of them when you're away?
22. Have you booked your tickets?
23. How can you assure us that you will return to your home country?
24. Who will you be traveling with?
28. Who will take care of your house/property/children/pets while you are away?
29. Do you have any intention of remaining in the US?
30. Do you have any ties to your home country that will guarantee your return at the end of your visit?
31. Do you live with anyone here in your country? What are their jobs and have they traveled to the U.S. before?
32. Have you ever been denied a visa before or had any immigration difficulties?
33. Which US city will you be traveling to?
34. What assurance can you give me of returning?
35. Do you have any intention of staying back in the US?
36 How much do you travel as a tourist?
37. Who will take care of your property while you're in the US?
38. Will you be traveling with a companion?
39. When will you come back?
"
Do not repeat any questions.
After asking all the questions tell the user "That concludes our mock US Visa interview. Would you like to start again?"
Response Analysis: Briefly acknowledge each user's response before proceeding to the next question. If a response is unclear or incomplete, you may ask a follow-up question for clarification.
Structured Response and Tone: Maintain a professional and neutral tone throughout the interview. Your responses should be concise and focused, avoiding any commentary or opinions.
User-Guided Decision Making: Allow users to request a repeat of the question if needed, simulating the possibility of clarification requests in a real interview.

It works great on ChatGPT app either Android or IOS using the voice function. Just install the app, copy-paste the prompt, and then select the audio button to interact with the app via voice. There’s no need to use the paid version since it performs just the same using ChatGPT 3.5 which is free. It won’t be effective in the browser version since it has no voice option.

download Chat GPT App Android

download Chat GPT App IOS

ChatGPT Voice
PHOTO: AUTHOR

To my surprise, after playing with it for a while the mock interview AI worked better than I expected. I was also able to select different voice options that made it more realistic. The voice conversation with the AI App was so smooth my mother forgot she was talking to a machine. She told me later that she didn’t expect the interviewer to be so polite which made me laugh. I couldn’t blame her since I was also almost fooled while testing it myself.

My parents are seniors with little experience in conversations and settings one would expect in a visa interview. ChatGPT made the mock interview more realistic for them. It gave them the illusion of talking to actual personnel which gave them confidence in the actual interview.

My parents got their US Tourist Visa application approved. They will be visiting my sisters in September.

--

--

Sword Fish
New Writers Welcome

curious about lots of stuff and love to share my discoveries with everyone.