How To Live Rent-Free In 2024!

A must-see guide to living your best life!

Lum Che
New Writers Welcome
5 min readOct 29, 2023

--

Photo by Guilherme Stecanella on Unsplash

October 26, 2023 was my big day. That’s right, my birthday!

For me, that day marked the start of my very own New Year. And just like everyone else, the New Year period is the time I typically start making plans for the future.

Thus, at the start of October, I began listing my goals.

My main goal for the upcoming year, is to become home owner sometime in August 2024.

But while keeping my main goal in mind, another thought popped into my head, one I couldn’t shake off, no matter how hard I tried.

How?…

How can I live rent free for the next 8 months?

I thought about this severally, wrapping my head around the best way I could achieve this.

For 2 weeks, I searched online to find the perfect way to do it. But the results were often disappointing… That was, until I ran into a distant friend of mine in the mall.

Hearing her speak of her situation made my blood boil and my eyes widen with excitement.

That was it!

I finally found it! AI found the 2 ways that were completely doable in 2024, if you want to live rent-free!

1) Shared Airbnb

Yes, yes, yes! I said it, shared Airbnb.

Originally, I planned to have my own Airbnb when I become a home owner. But after listening to my friend, I had to ask myself a very important question.

Why Wait?

My friend, Gigi, currently lives in a single bedroom apartment, where the rent goes for 1,900 a month.

Her 1 bedroom apartment/bachelor pad, has a moderately sized living room attached to a kitchen. And of course, there is the bedroom, bathroom, coat storage space and balcony.

Gigi had the ingenious idea of buying room dividers from amazon, and turning part of her living space into a bedroom.

The dividers she bought didn’t need any installations. You simply put them together and viola, the room is divided.

She sleeps on her couch, and has ample space for her work station since she too works from home.

As for her guests, they stay in her room and are out of the apartment most of the day.

Don’t forget that most people who Airbnb, are tourists and other visitors from outside the city/town.

So a majority of the time, they are out of the apartment, roaming around the city.

Every week, Gigi opens her home to these tourist, allowing herself 2 days per week to do deep cleaning and personal relaxation.

This means that 22/23 days a month, she has tourists and visitors over. 22 days if the month is 30 days long, and 23 if the month is 31 days long.

For her shared space located in the heart of the buzzing city, she charges $86 per night.

So when all those days are booked, she makes $1,892 to $1,978.

Sometimes, things get slow, and she only gets 15 days a month booked. Still, that isn’t bad since it will still give her $1,290.

Many times, she might choose to cut down personal freedom time a week, choosing to cut it down from 2 days a week to 1 day a week so she can make up the difference.

Photo by Kirill on Unsplash

2) Renting a Space

Now, now, now… When I talk about renting a space, I don’t mean Airbnb.

If you can clean up your home and make it look decent and good-looking to the eyes, then you’re in luck. Someone might just be interested in renting it out for an hour or even 4.

Giggster and Peerspace, are 2 of the many websites that allow people to list a space for events, meetings, photoshoots and even baby showers.

For me, my focus was on Photoshoots.

I only posted images of my living room, keeping to clean while also doing a few DIYs to make it look elegant.

Fake potted plants, beautifully crafted stools, mirrors, portrait frames from the Dollar store and other items were used to create the illusion that my living room was high-end.

Youtubers and many who are looking for indoor spaces, typically search on such websites to book places for photoshoots. If your kitchen is amazing, or you have a beautiful balcony, that’s even better.

On Giggster, I charged $35 per hour for them to use my space. But some people charge $65 and even $100 per hour depending on how good their space looked.

On these sites, you can set a minimum booking period, which for me, was 2 hours.

This meant no one can book an hour session. And quite frankly, I didn’t think anyone would.

For photoshoots, you never know how long they are going to take, especially if you have to do hair and makeup changes in the space.

It ha been a week since I started, and so far, I’ve had 6 bookings, each no less than 2 hours, with some going up to 5 hours.

Already, I have made $671 from all 6 booking sessions. And if I keep this up for 3 more weeks, my earnings per month should be above $2,000.

So, what are my conclusions?

Photo by Minh Pham on Unsplash

Can you do it? The answer is yes!

For me, my earnings came faster because I live in the heart of Vancouver city, Canada.

It’s an extremely busy place with people storming in and out daily. Perhaps your results might be slower or even faster, but it will eventually come!

You will be surprised by how many people are looking for indoor homes to shoot in.

In life, everything we need for success, is right beside us.

Why do we keep saying we will make things better in future when we eventually have the money to do it?

Look around you. Look at your home, look at the resources you have.

The big question, should be how you are going to turn things around with what you already have!

Thank you for reading! Please clap, comment and follow for more awesome tips!.

Be sure to check out my other posts too so you don’t miss a thing.

--

--

Lum Che
New Writers Welcome

Freelance Writer. I write about life, health, travels, history, relationships, beauty and books.