How to Market Yourself as A Freelance Writer (The Right Way)

It’s daunting in the beginning, but constant marketing can make it easy

Vritant Kumar
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Jigar Panchal on Unsplash

I’m writing this story on a sunny afternoon, reflecting on my limited expertise as a freelance writer.

I have been writing on Medium for about 3 years now. But me doing freelance work is relatively new. Though I’d like to shout bits and pieces of advice through your ears, I simply don’t want to do that.

What I want to do instead is walk you through the basics of freelance writing — so that you can discover the good, the bad, and the beautiful of this craft on your own. Because we’re most prone to making silly (but costly) mistakes when we’re just getting started, when we know little to nothing about the field. Let me brighten your way a little.

My journey as a freelancer (in brief)

It all started with a coincidence about a year and a half ago. I used to post articles on Medium and for promoting it, I posted about it on LinkedIn.

One such post caught the attention of an executive manager of a company, and he messaged me directly. He asked me to write an article on ethical business practices. That’s how I got my first client.

--

--

Vritant Kumar
New Writers Welcome

I write to EXPLORE as much as I write to EXPRESS. 6x top writer. newsletter: vritant.substack.com